Godly Relationships by Tara Randel

Last night I attended a Girls Night Out at our local hospital. It was a wonderful community event that included vendors spotlighting their products, samples from local restaurants (YUM) and information about doctors and services available at the hospital. It was very well attended, especially if you considered the cupcake line. Longest one there!

I decided I didn’t want to go alone and invited a dear friend to come along. As Pam and I walked through the lobby, set up with tables for the vendors, I couldn’t help but notice that most of the women attending either came in a group or at least had a buddy with them. It got me thinking about how women thrive in a social atmosphere. I don’t know about you, but I love taking a friend along when I’m on an outing. I guess it’s the visiting and chatting that we enjoy, sometimes more than the event itself. Even after visiting every table at the hospital event, Pam and I went out for coffee, taking girl time to catch up on our busy lives.

As a society, we do love to gather together. It forms our community. Think about it, you probably love to be around friends, attend church or get together for reader or writer’s groups, just to name a few. We want to be a part of something. Something bigger than ourselves.

After I got home, I started thinking about relationships. My mind quickly focused on my relationship with God. It is so awesome to think that God created us because He wanted a relationship with us. Over the years of my Christian walk, I’ve gone from the early years of thinking of God as a hazy figure who sits on a throne in heaven, to understanding that He is my Father and my friend. I approach Him so very differently than I did in the beginning. There is an intimacy now when I go to God in prayer, when I spend my days talking to Him, when I spend my quiet time listening to his voice.

God created us for relationship. And because of Him, we have life. That is certainly something to praise Him for.

The Bible is filled with stories of people. People who had a relationship with God. People striving to get things right. Didn’t always happen, but God’s grace and the love of Jesus sure go a long way in making our walk here on earth special. Good times of bad, the spirit of the Lord is always with us. We are never alone.

Take a few minutes to think about the special people in your life. When you fellowship with your friends and neighbors, think about how much God loves us. He put those special people in your path. I know I plan on doing just that throughout the day.

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

