Dear Hannah by Hannah Alexander

Hannah Alexander logo

Are you ready for some more fictive advice for the lovelorn? Push aside your disbelief and read along. These may not be real, living breathing people, but you can pretty much count on someone in the world enduring what they’re enduring, and since I’m writing their stories, I can help them better than anyone. You can find these characters in a story set during Christmas in a book called Dandelion Moon.

Dear Hannah,

My fiance just fired me! Well, okay, he didn’t exactly fire me, I happened to overhear him explaining to a nasty woman on the hospital board why he hasn’t fired me yet. So he was planning to. I beat him to the punch out of self-preservation. We’ve had our differences. I mean, major differences, ones that broke up our engagement last year. I don’t want that to happen again. If it did, I think I’d give up on romance entirely. What’s the use? All that happens when it comes to romance for me is that I get hurt, or someone else does. Why bother?

Dr. Joy Gilbert

Dear Joy,

So you were eavesdropping and overheard something you shouldn’t have, then perhaps jumped to a conclusion? How can you know for sure? You didn’t give him a chance to explain? If you’re engaged to this man, do you think you might be able to guess what he’d have done if you hadn’t confronted him about it? Do you often feel the need to be in such control of your life that you force the issue to keep someone else from hurting you before you can defend yourself? I get the impression you don’t completely trust this fiance of yours after one breakup. Maybe the two of you need to spend a little more time together and get to know one another more. Time spent doing that might sound frustrating, but until a couple knows each other’s foibles and each can trust the other and still love them during the rough patches, time seems to be the best antidote for the questions running through your mind right now.

Why don’t you see if someone else might be behind this awful exchange? Is there someone who wants to hurt  you? Don’t automatically blame the fiance. Even in small towns like Juliet, there are mean people. Don’t let them win. Trust in love, and wait until it’s right. You’ll know.

I wish you the best,

Hannah Alexander

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Hannah by Hannah Alexander

  1. So fun. What a great concept, “Dear Hannah.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

