How Writing is Like Moving by Julie Arduini

This past year has been full of adventures both in and outside my writing life. I had the opportunity to sign contracts and move forward in the publication process. Most of my time has been spent with our journey to move to what we call our “forever” home.

We’re now in our new place and although there’s still boxes to unpack, I’m already reflecting. I realized that a lot about the moving process reminds me of writing.

1. Plotting it Out

I’m a planner and organizer. When we first started praying about the move we listed what God laid on our hearts. The needs for the new home. As we progressed and I started packing things up, I labeled boxes. I wrote the name of the room I wanted it in and what the contents contained. This has been a life saver. When I’ve been asked “Where is the…” even if it’s still packed, I pretty much know where it is.

My writing life is like that, too. I’ve tried to be “seat of the pants” when it comes to plot and it isn’t natural. I don’t write every detail down, but I need a plan. My characters need a background and it’s important to write it out.

2. The Sagging Middle

There was the time in the real estate process when we had to wait on others and we didn’t know how long things would take. Now that we’ve been in the house two weeks there are boxes I can tell aren’t as critical because they’re still in the hall.

Like writing, the beginning and the end are exciting to me. Bridging those has never been easy, and I have a feeling I’m not the only author with that struggle. They don’t call it the sagging middle for nothing.

3. The Euphoria

Signing our name on the paperwork was exciting. Receiving the key? Try and stop our grins. Sitting in our chairs in the Florida room watching the birds at the feeder brings about a joy I can’t describe.

Putting my name on three contracts this year was an amazing feeling. Revising a chapter and receiving great feedback brings about an excitement most outside of writing wouldn’t understand. Hitting send on that manuscript? It’s euphoric to finish and know you’ve done your best and it’s time to let the baby go.

I’m sure there’s more similarities I’ll think of as I keep unpacking but those are the ones that came to mind.

Are there any you can think of?

 

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Writing is Like Moving by Julie Arduini

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    Fun post, Julie! I’m not sure what to call the similarity between moving and writing that I’m thinking of – but there’s certainly been a culling process every time I’ve packed up, and whenever I write I inevitably throw out lines/paragraphs/even entire chapters. It’s one of my favorite things about moving and writing – that feeling of progress being made. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

