Dry Times

The Bible tells us there’s a time and a season for everything under heaven, and I think that means dry times, too.

Three years ago Texas was plunged into a severe drought and during the summer the area where I live had more than 90 days of 100-degree-plus weather. And it was a dry, dry heat. When the drought maps were released each month, a shade of dark brown (meaning exceptional drought, the worst on the scale) gradually took over most of the state.

City Park, September 2011, during the drought

City Park, September 2011, during the drought

Cracks appeared in the earth. Stock ponds dried up. Houses shifted here and there, and homeowners were encouraged to water, not their lawns, but the ground around the foundations of their homes.

When our souls are dry, it affects us like a lack of water does the ground. Our souls are dry, cracked like the ground, not capable of providing nourishment to anyone or anything.

Our souls get hard, too, shifting and pushing like the hard ground pushes on a home’s foundation.

We get sprinkles of living water, here and there. But those sprinkles aren’t enough to nourish our souls. We don’t have anything to offer to anyone else, either. As with a passing rain shower, the parched ground soaks up the rain and hours later, the moisture is gone as if it hadn’t rained.

City Park Pond, without a drought

City Park Pond, without a drought.

During the dry times, I find myself turning to the Psalms, where King David and the others write so honestly and frankly about the desperation they sometimes felt.

King David, now—that guy could wield a sword and play a harp, but he also had a mighty talented pen!

Here is one of my favorite psalms of his, Psalm 63. The subtitle in my Bible says it was written when he was in the wilderness of Judah.

Judging from the tone at the beginning, I think he probably was going through a personal wilderness as well.

I’m so thankful King David took the time to write these words. They’ve pointed many a dry, dry soul to the Living Water over the centuries.

I’m not a king on the run, but I’ve been through some mighty, mighty dry seasons. The words of an ancient king, inspired by God, soothe my contemporary soul time and time again.

What Scriptures in particular help your soul during parched times?

O God, You are my God;

Early will I seek You;

My soul thirsts for You;

My flesh longs for You

In a dry and thirsty land

Where there is no water.

So I have looked for You in the sanctuary,

To see Your power and Your glory.

Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,

My lips shall praise You.

Thus I will bless You while I live;

I will lift up my hands in Your name.

My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness,

And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.

When I remember You on my bed,

I meditate on You in the night watches.

Because You have been my help,

Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.

My soul follows close behind You;

Your right hand upholds me.

But those who seek my life, to destroy it,

Shall go into the lower parts of the earth.

They shall fall by the sword;

They shall be a portion for jackals.

But the king shall rejoice in God;

Everyone who swears by Him shall glory;

But the mouth of those who speak lies shall be stopped.

Psalm 63

– – – –

Lynette Sowell writes fiction for the inspirational market, from contemporary romance to mysteries. She’s always looking for the perfect recipe for a story–or a great dish–and is always up for a Texas road trip.

This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, Lynette Sowell, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

