Novella collections? by Camy Tang

I’m currently doing research for a Regency romance novella that I’m writing for the 3rd Inspy Kisses collection, Mistletoe Kisses, which will release in December. I wrote a full length Regency romance, Prelude for a Lord, under my pen name, Camille Elliot, so I’ll be writing as Camille for the Inspy Kisses collection.

For the other two collections, I wrote two romantic suspense novellas, which were pretty easy for me. But for some reason, a Regency romance novella is giving me problems. So to help jump-start my creativity, I pulled out some Regency romance novella collections from my TBR pile and I’m reading them to see the kinds of storylines and the pacing of these shorter stories.

(Yes, I know, I’m reading these books as “research.” My husband, Captain Caffeine, just rolls his eyes.)

It’s been really interesting to see the different types of stories in these Regency novellas. They don’t spend a lot of time of backstory, but they do try to develop full-fledged characters within a limited word count. Some writers are masterful at it–I just read “The Rake’s Christmas” by Edith Layton and the story is amazing. She really makes me care about the characters and I could see exactly how they fall in love just within this story.

I admit I haven’t read a lot of novellas recently–most of the time, I’m either reading nonfiction for research or I’m reading full-length novels to keep up with the market. But I’m finding such a comfort in these shorter stories. They’re sweet and uncomplicated, they have romance and varied settings and different character personalities for each story. They’re quick to read, and if there’s one I don’t care for, it’s not that huge a time commitment to read it all the way through or if I decide to stop reading it, I just skip to the next story in the book.

What do you all think about novella collections? Do you buy them? How do you read them–in spurts or all the way through? If they’re ebooks, do you read them on your computer? Your e-reader? Your phone? Or maybe a tablet? What’s the most you’ve spent on it?

Or do you prefer full length books to novella collections? Why or why not?

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Novella collections? by Camy Tang

  1. imabrassy1 says:

    I like novella collections. I usually read them all the way through but sometimes I get bogged down and will stop that novella and skip to the next one and then if I can’t get into it I stop the book completely. I use all the ways to read a book I can, book in hand, phone, tablet and desktop. I prefer books in hand but sometimes my hands just won’t hold up a book anymore so lighter devices are helpful. I also like full length books. I just like to read.

    Like

  2. D.L. Kamstra says:

    I find that novellas are a great way to find new authors. Quite often in the collections, I’ll recognize an author that I like, then discover a few I had not read before.

    I also like to read a novella after finishing a novel (particularly if it was a long one). Since they do tend to read a bit different from a novel, I find they offer a nice “break” in between books.

    Like

  3. Wendy A. says:

    I prefer full-length novels to novellas. Sure, most writers of novellas do a great job developing characters and story lines in a short period of time. With a novella, though, the story is finished before I know it and just as I’m starting to get “attached” to the characters and their stories—leaving me feeling sort of let down that there isn’t more. To the non fiction reader, that might sound silly, but for me developing a connection to the character and story line are why I read fiction.

    Like

    • camytang says:

      I can totally understand that. The really good novellas that I’ve enjoyed have a satisfying ending and they also link to other books in a series, which makes me feel like I can continue the story a bit longer. I did that with a paranormal romance novella I read–got the next book in the series and really enjoyed it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

