On My Reading Book Shelf by Maureen Lang

You can always tell a reader from a non-reader. Just say something like “I’m reading this really great book right now . . .” and watch their eyes sparkle with interest and hope to learn about a book they might like, too. Or else their eyes will glaze over and they’ll be quick to change the subject, unless they’re so polite they suffer through a topic they have absolutely no interest in.

But since this is a blog for readers, I can safely mention this topic knowing which kind of friend I’m talking to! I just finished this really great book. 🙂 It’s called The Whiskey Rebels, by David Liss. Basically it’s the tale of two main characters who live in the aftermath of the Revolutionary War. The author vividly created the era in my mind, filled it with fascinating characters that were at times brave or weak, cunning or heroic, loyal or selfish. The most delightful surprise for me was the self-deprecating humor in the male lead. If you like intricate plots and schemes that have no less than America’s early days as a teetering nation on the line, you’ll like this novel.

I also recently finished Her Royal Spyness, the first in a series of mysteries by Rhys Bowen. It’s set in the UK in the 1930s, an entertaining portrayal of an impoverished British Royal (34th in line to the throne, but still . . .) who must clear her brother from a murder charge. I don’t normally like series books, especially when I have to wait any length of time for the next in the series. But since these books have been out for a while, I can satisfy my impatience and jump right in to the rest of the books in line. They promise a fun mystery with just enough romance to keep this romance reader happy, and a heroine even this ordinary American can somehow identify with.

38689f201f02b3fc76308db4bc635e96

 

I also have a number of nonfiction books to be read, research material for future writing projects. Among them are titles like Smoldering City, Chicago and the Great Fire (1871-1874) by Karen Sawislak, and The Gospel of Germs by Nancy Tomes. I may not read these kinds of books from cover to cover, just enough as time permits to learn more about each historical era or setting to add texture to the novels I’m planning. I know so much history is at our fingertips online, but I love having a book in front of me, my own that I can underline or take notes from. Somehow it lasts a little longer in my head that way. 🙂

 

That’s it for now, but like you I’m sure, I’m always adding books to my to-be-read pile. So, Happy Reading!

 

 

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Maureen Lang, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

