Advice to the Lovelorn by Hannah Alexander

Advice to the Lovelorn Man

Here we go again! If you enjoy fiction, or reading advice columns, here’s a combination of both as I attempt to guide fictitious characters in their love lives. I believe there’s always a lot of truth in fiction, so I hope we can find some truth here today.

Dear Hannah,

I’m upset. Livid, in fact. I just discovered my best friend, Myra, has been dating a man who nearly ruined my life last year. And she should know better, she’s a psychiatrist! With lies and manipulation, Weston managed to convince Zack, my fiance, that I was having an affair behind his back, and instead of coming to me about it, Zack broke off the engagement. I was devastated, of course. Then when I was at my lowest, Weston convinced me to go to work for him. Little did I know that he had other things in mind. After I worked at his clinic for less than a year–constantly on guard to keep his hands off me–he fired me. The man’s a lecher. And Myra knew all this. So why does she seem to be falling in love with him? What should I do?

And another thing, Zack is back in the picture again. We’ve reconciled, but I’ve found I’m not quite as trusting as I once was. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a wonderful man with a caring heart, but if he was willing to listen to lies about me one time, what’s to stop him from doing the same thing again?

Joy

Dear Joy,

First of all, do you trust your best friend? I agree that what Weston did was heinous, but people do bad things for all kinds of reasons, and unless you can see through his eyes–or, in fact, Myra’s–you’re not in a position to make a sound judgment. If Myra already knows Weston’s tendencies and she’s been seeing him anyway, then perhaps as her friend you should stand beside her. Listen to her if she confides in you. Don’t let her decision to date Weston destroy your friendship.

As for your relationship with Zack, just the fact that you still don’t trust him shows me that the two of you need pre-marital counseling. If you can’t trust him with your whole heart, there’s a break between you already. How much more unstable will the foundation of your relationship become after marriage? Saying those vows won’t change what’s in your heart. Make sure you have a solid foundation for marriage before you stand before the minister and say “I do.”

Hannah

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

