Advice to the Lovelorn Man by Hannah Alexander

2013-03-29 15.13.47

 

 

 

I’ve always wondered what it would be like to include an advice column in one of my novels. It isn’t something I’d ever consider doing in real life, because I don’t want the responsibility of messing up a living person’s life with the wrong advice–and I’m capable of doing just that. I’m a novelist, after all, not a psychiatrist. However, I have a fictional character in need, and I’m going to attempt to help him here. If you have words of advice for him, I’d welcome them, because he’s in dire straits emotionally right now in the novel I’m writing. Prepare to suspend disbelief…

 

Dear Hannah,

You’re my last hope. I’ve done practically everything wrong my whole life, and in doing so have doubled my family’s wealth while hurting those most dear to me. I would give away my billions for a do-over. I realize you’re not a priest-confessor, but you have the power to change my life. I’m sorry for trampling the hearts of my ex-wife and my daughter in order to rake in the money. I nearly ruined the life of the best doctor who ever worked for me by breaking her engagement with lies to get her for myself. After a recent brush with death I’ve taken a new look at myself, and I hate what I see. My ex-wife has found love again, my daughter is growing up with me in the periphery of her life. There is a woman I truly love, but she’s so much more honorable than I. How do I make up for all the harm I’ve done? How do I become worthy of this woman I love?

Weston

Dear Weston,

In the Bible, Jesus told the rich young ruler to give up all his wealth to follow Him. You said you’d be willing to give away your billions for a do-over, but would you really? Can you possibly stop depending on wealth to define yourself? You’ve lived so long for the next high of cutting a deal, manipulating others to serve you. Can you live without that? Money is all you’ve known or understood. If you were to marry this worthy woman you love, would you truly love her, or would you go back to your old habits? I’m sorry, but you’ll need to prove yourself by doing what you said. Let me know what you decide.

Hannah

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advice to the Lovelorn Man by Hannah Alexander

  1. Vicki Hinze says:

    Hannah, love it.

    Like

  2. You say you’d give away your billions for a do-over. That may be what it takes for your heart to permanently change. Otherwise, you may fall into the same trap again. Jesus was very clear that riches are a snare and make it very hard to enter the kingdom of God. I would say focus on yourself and your own growth now. The best way to make yourself worthy of this woman is to first allow Jesus to do a work in you that will make you worthy to enter His kingdom. Focusing on changing yourself for a relationship that is temporary and only lasts while on this earth might bring you satisfaction for now, but may prevent you from receiving the greatest gift which is eternal life with the Father.

    Like

Leave a Reply

