Trusting God by Julie Arduini

I’ve been hit and miss blogging here this summer. I’d love to say it’s because I’m hunkered down with re writes and marketing plans now that contracts are signed. Although there’s truth to that, our family has been on a crazy ride this season.

We’ve had travels for family visits and our teen son’s missions trip. The bulk of our time has been searching for a new home. Last month we thought we found it. The offer was accepted and things seemed in motion. Deep down I sensed something was off, but I didn’t want to think about it. Red flags started popping up, but we didn’t think much of it. We dismissed them as inconveniences.

And the deal fell through.

Once we recovered from the shock we all confessed we felt this was going to happen. The challenge was to move past the emotions and trust God to move us forward. Literally.

There was one object lesson that gave me the courage to keep that process at the Lord’s feet. I’m a visual person and when this showed up on my Facebook feed, I felt the urge to save it. Now I know why.

Artist unknown. First appeared on Facebook.

Artist unknown. First appeared on Facebook.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The house we thought would be ours was nice. There was an open floor plan and space for entertaining, yet for us to recharge as an introverted family. It was designed similar to the home we left behind in our faith move from Upstate NY to Ohio. The yard was huge. There were “extras” we didn’t even pray about.

But fast forward past the deal falling through and choosing to move on, we are now on track to close on a new home even better than that one. This house has more space and bigger bedrooms. Cozier. A gorgeous neighborhood with breathtaking landscaping and privacy. So much more, and yet, $15K less than the last house. The sellers left a list of items they can’t take with them and gave us first shot at buying at a reasonable price. Nearly everything we needed was on that list and it saved us a lot of money.

Isn’t God good?

I wish that was my only lesson in the making this summer. With our current home, I was certain we’d be selling. Put a sign in the yard, the people come, we negotiate, done.

Not so fast.

As we’ve made repairs and cleaned out, we’ve prayed every step of the way. When we asked our agent to tour the house and share her insight she was honest. We were taken before the recession with the appraisal. The house will never appraise at the amount we need it to. Many families were taken like we were. Some lost their jobs after the recession and were forced into banktruptcy. They can’t buy right now—but next year—they can.

Her suggestion was to rent our current house out.

At first I couldn’t even entertain it. Afterall, it’s always about buying and selling. Not buying and renting. Right?

Our answer might not be everyone’s but we laid this down in prayer. And I felt such peace. Our agent has provided helps so we’re informed and protected the best we can. By focusing on that visual above, I was able to hand my plan for a straight sell and consider His plan.

Trusting God is so hard. That’s what makes the reward of faith so rich. We can’t see what’s ahead. We have to believe His best for us is the plan. When Eve sinned her real motivation was far. She didn’t think God would come through for her.

Boy, do I relate.

My prayer for you is if trusting God is a struggle, surrender that fear. The same inspectors that went through the first house also inspected this home we plan on moving into. They couldn’t believe we’re getting more house for less money. Over and over they said, “God’s sure blessing you.” They even pointed to the design on the doors, a cross. “See, even down to the door. A cross. God’s blessing you.”

Trust Him to bless you, too. Not for things, don’t get me wrong. As excited as I am for this house, the real blessing here is peace. Unity. And favor.

Trust Him today.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trusting God by Julie Arduini

  1. margie says:

    BOY IS THIS FOR ME OR WHAT, I HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH A VERY HARD TIME AND I TELL YOU I FEEL ALL ALONE AND LIKE I,M GOING NO WERE IN ANYTHING THE LAST WELL. I READ MY BIBLE AND PRAY AND FEEL LIKE NOTHING. I,M GOING NO WERE IN MY WALK WITH THE LORD AND THING;S JUST DON;T SEEM TO BE GOING GOOD. YOU SENT THIS AT A GOOD TIME, THANK YOU SO MUCH.

    Like

    • juliearduini says:

      Margie, the big lie the devil wants us to believe is that we are defeated. The truth is that’s the definition of him, not you, not me. He is the defeated one. Years ago I heard he’s in a constant recession. His bag of tricks will never multiply, they will always subtract. So, he has to use what works. It started with Eve and continues to this day. That God won’t provide our need. That He won’t be there for us. That He doesn’t care.

      The house situation I shared above is a small piece of the journey. I’ve had to trust HIm when our daughter was at death’s door as a baby. Through infertility. Writing issues. As a wife and mom. And I can tell you, it’s hard. But it is a season, and the hard ones are preparation. For when that spiritual spring comes, the release into new season is amazing. You will have perspective. It will be worth it.

      Keep trusting Him. He goes before you. He is your rearguard. He surrounds you.

      In Christ,
      Julie

      Like

      • margie says:

        yes it,s hard and Christian people feel I need to get out of this living with a guy because it’s not right.. ya your right I do need to get in god;s word more and trust him, I feel like I,m going no were in my walk with him. don’t you think a person need;s to be up front about everything??????????????? he ask me to be a part of his life I feel I should know thing;s. he had nothing when he got out of pres, and just all at once there is all this money I don’t care that he has it, it’s just were all at one did this come from// I want a reloinship with this guy we had it what happened I don’t know.

        Like

  2. juliearduini says:

    Margie, all I can tell you in my 20 years of having a personal relationship with Jesus is He’s always had my back and through the Holy Spirit, given me wisdom and guidance in all things. When people have let me down, Jesus has not. If you are not part of a Bible believing and preaching church, I invite you to find one. They can become “God with skin on.” A family. God has an amazing plan for your life. How He wants to lavish and dote on you. In ways that will honor you, and the Lord. May you find all these things in Christ’s strength!

    Like

Leave a Reply

