And It’s Official by Julie Arduini

I have a confession to make.

I’ve struggled as one of the bloggers here.

Not because I had an issue with anyone, quite the opposite, actually. As a reader, the other bloggers here at Christians Read are truly my favorite authors and have been. As a writer, they are my mentors.

But I felt like that Sesame Street sketch.

One of these things isn’t like the others.

Why?

Everyone was published but me. No one ever said a word about it as far as pressuring me to change the status. I was working quietly behind the scenes revising and taking my chapters through critique groups. But I let it get to me.

I even offered to step down.

And the gang lovingly said forget it.

They let me know it wasn’t a matter of if I’d be published.

It was a matter of when.

And I’m thrilled to say the time has come.

I signed two contracts recently that I’m really excited about.

The first is for an infertility devotional with Chalfont House Publishing. Heidi Glick, Elizabeth Maddrey, Kym McNabney, Paula Mowery, Donna Winters and I share our experiences with transparency in a way none of us saw in books when we were going through our struggles. Yet, there is hope. Something women in this season are in desperate need of. It’s the first time my name will be on a cover. Yay!

The second is twenty years in the making. Write Integrity Press offered a contract for my Adirondack contemporary romances. Spectacular Falls is finished and I can’t wait for readers to meet Jenna Anderson and Ben Regan. She’s the new senior center director in Speculator Falls producing a lot of change for grocer Ben Regan. My hope is readers fall in love with the people and the area. I’ve said more than once if I could go anywhere in the world, I’d most likely choose the Adirondack Mountains of Upstate NY.

The real Charlie Johns store in Speculator, NY is the inspiration behind JB's the store in Spectacular Falls. Picture by Julie Arduini

The real Charlie Johns store in Speculator, NY is the inspiration behind JB’s, the store in Spectacular Falls. Picture by Julie Arduini

I don’t know why having a contract makes a difference. I told my mom the only thing I can figure out is perhaps deep down I believe it’s validation. That I AM meant to do this writing thing. That someone believes in me. That I don’t stink.

Whatever the case, I’m thankful for the Christians Read gang. They believed in me when I didn’t and never made me feel less than because I wasn’t published. Thank you, reader, for contacting me behind the scenes when you enjoyed a post and didn’t question my qualifications.

Here are one sentence hooks for the series:

Spectacular Falls:

A  city-girl plows into an Adirondack village and produces change for the grocer.

Untangled:

A single mom and former Adirondack sheriff enters beauty school but creates split ends for the men in her life.

To Be Determined:

Trish Maxwell returns to Speculator Falls with crushed dreams, egg on her face, and the chance to make a new start with the very people and places she used to make fun of.

I’ll keep you posted!

 

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And It’s Official by Julie Arduini

  1. Grace Winn says:

    Congratulations to you!

    Like

  2. Maureen Lang says:

    Yippee!!!!

    Like

  3. tararandel says:

    Congratulations! Yes, you are official but just that fact that you’ve kept at it and never stopped proves you are indeed an author!

    Like

  4. Vicki Hinze says:

    Julie, congratulations. Let me say how much I have enjoyed your posts, how much I have enjoyed you being an integral part of Christians Read–and share my hope that you will be for a long, long time to come.

    It isn’t a contract or publisher that makes a writer a writer, dear heart. It’s writing. You’ve always done that and been fiercely dedicated to doing it well. It’s that discipline and dedication that marks the heart as a writer. God gives the gift, but it is your free will choice to use it and to acquire the skills to do the job well. You’ve always had that.

    Yet the author in me totally understands the inner cry for that validation, for affirmation and confirmation that this is what you’re intended to do. It takes only reading one of your posts to know that it is. You write honestly, tackle the challenges that confront us which helps us all make sense of this world and to rest our weary selves in the promises of the next.

    Of course, you are a writer. Of course.

    And I am absolutely thrilled, as I know all at Christians Read are, that you’ve gotten the validation you needed–and in a huge way on multiple projects! That is awesome, Julie. I’m so very happy for you!

    Blessings,

    Vicki

    Like

    • juliearduini says:

      Vicki, you have no idea how touched I am by your words. You’ve been the biggest cheerleader and encouragement. You never made me feel “less than.” I appreciate that. May God bless you and everyone at Christians Read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

