Laughing It up with a String-Story Slam!

I just returned from the annual ICRS (International Christian Retail Services) Convention in Atlanta, where I had a chance to see dear friends and colleagues I don’t run into any other time but at this once-a-year event. Besides presenting the annual Beyond Me Award to author Grace Fox at the Golden Scrolls Award Banquet and doing some TV and radio interviews (and lots and lots of eating!), I also had an opportunity to be part of a “string-story slam.”

Yeah, it was a first for me too—never heard of it before. But I must admit, it was a lot of fun, and the audience seemed to love it. Onstage with CAN president Angie Breidenbach, funny lady Twila Belk, and comedian-extraordinaire Torry Martin at the Change of Life Festival, we had them rolling in the aisles as we took turns reading from our individual books (i.e., third sentence on page 93, last line on page 132, etc.) to string together an absolutely hilarious and completely nonsensical story. Why am I telling you about this? Because after the event, several audience members came up to us and told us they planned to use it as an ice-breaker at parties and book-club meetings, or just at home with family and friends. Why not give it a try yourself? Have a few people bring their favorite book (novels work best), and then have someone else moderate by announcing which lines/pages to read from. It’s that simple. Then watch the fun begin! Will you give it a try? I’d love to hear about it.

10500348_10152501700610982_4335938090851988652_n

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laughing It up with a String-Story Slam!

  1. 4gazpacho says:

    I love this idea!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

