Summer Reading by Tara Randel

Summer is here! The kids are out of school. Hectic schedules slow down. We might have a vacation thrown into the mix. All in all, a perfect time to catch up on our reading. If you are anything like me, you probably have a to To Be Read pile collecting dust beside your bed. Even with hopeful expectations to sit down with a good book, life usually gets in the way of well intentioned plans.

Celebrate June’s release by entering to win a summer camping kit (grill, tent, and camp chairs) from Quilts of Love.

http://prmo.me/XNubt7

My favorite memories of summer revolve around reading. As a child, I signed up for the summer reading program at the library. I checked out more books than I could carry, but had a blast. Worlds I had never imagined opened up to me. Characters made an impression that stay with me even today. The life-long reader in me was hooked.

Later, in high school, I had required reading during the summer. As much as I loved reading, I didn’t necessarily enjoy the book list. I must admit, I like to pick out my own reading choices. Still, I learned a thing or two from the books and got good grades on my reports. When my daughters had required reading in school, I encouraged them to keep up with the book list, but still brought them to the library or book store to select their own choices. I’m proud to say I have well read and intelligent daughters!

9780373366859_DIR                                                   20140417_151414

As an adult, I still read frequently, but those long days of summer hold special memories. To this day I love camping out at the beach for the day, soaking up the sun, waves and words on the page of the book I’m reading.

I hope you have reading plans this summer. Drop me a line and let me know how you plan on spending your reading time this summer.

Rival Hearts-available now. Magnolia Bride- July 2014

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Reading by Tara Randel

  1. Connie Brown says:

    I plan to read and read and read. I have several books from the church library where I volunteer and have a chance to get the newest books we receive. I have 3 books I was given to read and review and am looking forward to that. I know that I will purchase at least one of those for the library. My goal for the year is 205 books and I’m up to 87 so far since the first of the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

