Quilts and Bonnets…or Human Suffering?

As a long-time writer who has tackled various subjects and genres, I’ve finally come to the conclusion that Christian readers prefer soft and gentle over hard-hitting, at least when it comes to fiction. My new Quilt Series has actually been selling quite well, even though it includes background stories about historical characters who suffered for various causes. In contrast, my Extreme Devotion Series (modern-day martyrs around the world) and Freedom Series (human trafficking), though winning countless awards and accolades for helping to expose horrific situations, have been tough sells.

I’ve come to the conclusion (though I’m open to other opinions) that many of us are so inundated and grieved by the worldwide suffering we see on a regular basis that we prefer novels with a “softer” touch, something with a “Calgon feel” that can take us away from all that for a time. That would certainly explain the popularity of Amish or “bonnet” fiction, as well as the current quilt fad. I personally enjoyed researching and writing the Quilt Series more than I did the Extreme Devotion or Freedom Series, simply because they weren’t as dark or difficult. But I believe the others were necessary, and I pray God will use them to help many who are trapped in such deplorable situations.

I would love to hear from other writers who may have had similar experiences, and also from readers. What are your thoughts on this? When it comes to fiction, do you prefer “quilts and bonnets” or human suffering as a topic? Thanks for your input!

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilts and Bonnets…or Human Suffering?

  1. Kathi, I’m about to find out the same thing. After writing romantic suspense or fast-action medical, I’m slowing it down now, taking out the murder mystery, leaving a mystery, but including more drama and relationship, with animals and kids for humor. I’m interested in seeing what readers really like better.

    Like

  2. TC Avey says:

    As both a reader and a writer, I agree with you (though I’ve only written one book, but it’s a tough one for many to read as it forces them to look at the world around them- and their walk with Christ- in a new way).

    Like

  3. Johng369 says:

    Article Source a viral game app is not cebkdddddfca

    Like

Leave a Reply

