What Would You Put in Your Locket? By Julie Arduini

origami owl photo: Origami Owl Living Lockets 3.jpg

Each Christmas vacation I visit my dear friends from my school years. Last December we met at the mall and as soon as I saw Julie, I was drawn to her necklace. It was a locket with charms inside. She told me it was a gift from her husband, an Origami Owl necklace.

I looked it up when I got home and became intrigued with them. The idea is you buy a necklace and fill it with charms that summarize your life and interests.

The charm choices are limitless.

  • Mom
  • USA/Military
  • Children (blue/pink)
  • Dog
  • Cat
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Cross
  • Words like faith and family
  • Flip flops

and more.

I gifted myself a cheaper brand for my birthday and I was surprised by how long it took me to figure out what charms I wanted. There’s only so much room in the locket, so you want to get it right.

I represent a lot of things to people: wife, mom, daughter, sister, friend. Ohio person, Upstate NY born and bred. Writer. Reader. Dog lover. Coffee drinker. Choco-holic. And of course,  Jesus-girl.

So, what did I end up with?

  • A set of wedding rings to represent marriage
  • A boy charm to represent our oldest son
  • A girl charm to represent our daughter
  • A pink cross to show the world I’m a Jesus-girl.
  • A stack of books because I’m a writer and a reader.

I think those sum me up well.

But I wondered, what charms would people pick?

If you were given a locket and 5 charms to choose from, what ones would most signify you?

I’d love to hear what you would choose, and why.

photobucket image

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Would You Put in Your Locket? By Julie Arduini

  1. tararandel says:

    What an awesome idea! I’d definitely get charms representing my faith, marriage and children. Maybe even something to do with writing.

    Like

    • juliearduini says:

      That’s what I did. I have room for a couple more, so I have thinking to do. I thought it was fun to talk about. Thanks for reading, Tara!

      Like

  2. While in Nicaragua (we’re missionaries) I also saw the site you’re talking about. I spent the morning pretending which charms I would pick. I had the lipstick (always have bright pink on!), christian fish symbol, music note, stack of books, and kitchen mixer. Then I wrote the company to see if they would make a plate with the word ‘bloom.’

    Like

  3. Holly says:

    A diamond. An anchor. A rose.

    Not sure I’d have 5, I guess. 🙂

    Like

  4. A cross, birthstone of my kiddos and something to represent marraige

    Like

  5. Music notes, the sailboat, the anchor, the Coast Guard, and the cardinal.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

