Acclaim the Lord! by Tara Randel

Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, Lord. Ps 89:15 NIV

I read this scripture the other day and thought, have I learned to acclaim you Lord? To acclaim means to cry out, to greet or announce with loud approval or applause. In the KJV, it says, Blessed is the people that know the joyful sound: they shall walk, O LORD, in the light of thy countenance. I had to stop and think, do I know the joyful sound? Do I make the joyful sound in daily living in order to walk in His light?

One of the reasons I love reading the book of Psalms is that no matter what verse I study, I always end up taking stock of my life. More times than not, questions pop into my mind and I find myself really pondering the answers. Not that I always get answers mind you, but by spending time contemplating the verses, I at least come away feeling like I have walked in the presence of God.

Being an author is mostly a solitary job. I sit for hours before a computer scene, creating a world for my characters to live and work in or I read, reread and read yet again, my work in progress. Not exactly a noisy endeavor. There’s not a lot of loud commotion around me, certainly no applause. Yet I can find ways to greet my Lord by being mindful of his promise that I walk in the light of His presence.

On Sundays, I sing on the worship team. Through years of being involved with music, I have come to understand how our praise and worship draw the spirit of God. There are instruments, sound systems, and a congregation crying out in loud approval and applause. It’s a time of celebration and reflecting on our almighty God.

And then Monday morning rolls around and I’m back in my quiet house, typing away. So how do I acclaim Him? By understanding that God is always present. Even as I work, I know He is with me. And if that isn’t enough to get excited about, I don’t know what else is! Each morning I take the time to acknowledge His mighty presence. I may have a full day planned, but I’ve learned to make special time to acclaim the Lord. To speak words of admiration. To bask in His light. I can’t think of any better way to start my work day. Or any day.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the business of life. No matter what type of job you have, at home or in the workplace, be blessed by taking the time to acknowledge Him before starting your day. I can certainly sing out to God from before my computer screen or while driving if I have an appointment. As God’s people, let’s acclaim Him in a loud voice and please, pass on this scripture verse to others. As you share with others, you never know just how He’ll bless you.

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

