In the Run-up to Easter…Encourage Someone!

Easter isn’t until late April this year, but I always start thinking about it at the first signs of Spring, and the signs of new life that come with it. (And that happens early here in Southern California where I live!) I wasn’t raised in a Christian home, though it was “back in the day” when the majority of the country still openly celebrated the religious aspects of Christmas and Easter. As a result, I knew at least the basics about those holidays, but I must admit that my primary focus was Santa and the Easter bunny. Therefore, it was no surprise when our third-grade teacher asked us to write an Easter story and mine centered on colored eggs and candy.

What was a surprise, however, was the fact that the teacher thought my story was so well written that she showed it to the principal, who decided to turn it into a play for the entire PTA. Wow, I was stunned! I was also hooked. I think I knew from that moment that I would be a writer one day.

As the years went by, I received other words of encouragement about my writing; I also received rejections, which goes with the territory. But I was so impacted by that third grade teacher and the principal who believed in me that I never gave up pursuing my dream.

I want to be like those two women who spoke encouragement into my life so many years ago, don’t you? Regardless of what a child’s dreams may be, it is so important for us as adults to encourage those dreams and help steer their fulfillment in the right direction. As we approach the coming Season of Lent, let’s ask God to give us opportunities to encourage someone else’s dreams. We never know where those dreams may take them, or how they may impact future generations.

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

