Great Escapes by Elizabeth Goddard

In previous posts, I’ve often written about reading as an escape. Years ago, I read as much nonfiction as fiction. Self-help books, mostly. But these days I’m all about writing and reading fiction. The last few weeks, several family members have been dealing with serious health issues and I feel like my family is under attack. I have never needed an escape more, and as a result I’ve read more books recently than I have in the last few years.  Some for endorsement, others for pleasure, and then there are those authors I read to learn more about writing in my genre.

I have never started a book that I didn’t finish, that is, until recently. Maybe that’s because in the past, once I checked out that library book or I bought or borrowed the book, I didn’t have easy access to hundreds of other books that were calling to me. That’s a warning to authors that you’d better draw the reader in and quickly. Now, if I’m not drawn in with the writing or the premise, I have too many other choices.

That said, here are a few of the unforgettable books I’ve read over the last few weeks.

season of changeA Season of Change by Lynette Sowell

This is an Amish story, yes, but a different kind of Amish story set in an unusually place. It’s the first Amish book I’ve read in twenty years. That’s right, I don’t usually read Amish, but this author has a way of pulling you in with not only her voice, but with her storytelling. Natalie is a circus worker looking for answers to her past in the Amish community. See what I mean?

Healer of Carthage by Lynne GentryHOCbook

Lynne Gentry is one amazing writer, her voice and writing steps above others—but she’s also created a story like no other. A time-travel—sending a doctor to the Roman past, and you can count on the research. This story was a thrilling, historical and romantic ride. Like all my favorite genres woven together.

stresstest

 Stress Test by Richard Mabry

I haven’t read Mabry before, but now I plan to read all his novels. He writes medical romantic thrillers, and he knows his stuff. I love the fast-pace of his novels, and the medical details. The romance is second to the suspense plot and that’s fine by me. I look forward to his upcoming release, Critical Condition.

Thanks for taking the time to read through my recommendation for great escapes.

Blessings!

Elizabeth Goddard

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Honored Alumni, Lynette Sowell, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

