Surviving hibernation with a good book!

IMG_0228Our yard has pretty much looked like this all winter . . . which  means the roads are often slick and the temps are below freezing. I end up staying home whenever possible.

This might be torture for some, but heaven for skiers—and readers like me! I have the luxury of being surrounded by books nearly all of the time, and this winter is no exception. I’m reading research books for my current writing project, a couple of books I received for Christmas, books I’m judging for a contest, book club books, books that were written by friends, even audio books I enjoy on my iPhone or for those times I really do have to drive and can listen in the car as I go so slowly along the snowy roads. As an avid reader, I couldn’t be happier—especially since this winter has been so cold, snowy, and loooong (it’s still January!).

How do non-readers who don’t ski or like winter get through it? I know there are more entertainment choices than ever out there, but I couldn’t imagine not wanting to escape into a good book. No more snowy roads to worry about! Just grab a blanket and snuggle down to be swept away into another world.

Speaking of entertainment choices, in this day and age there are more books than ever to choose from. Several of the books I’ve enjoyed lately have been self-published, which is broadening my choices even more than I expected. My goodness, how self-published books have changed! While I still haven’t raved over the cover art on many and I’ve occasionally spotted areas where a good editor would have come in handy, I realize that’s just me being nit-picky. I’m so used to critiquing my own work as well as the work coming up in my critique circles that I can’t turn off the editor in me. But I’m fairly sure someone who reads purely for enjoyment wouldn’t even notice some of the things that cross my mind. As a writer, though, reading self-published books released by established writers (those already having worked with traditional publishers) is fascinating. It’s like getting to read their writing in its purest form, without any other voice influencing it—sometimes for worse but very often for better. It’s a great study in the truest presentation of that writer’s voice; I guess I feel like I’m getting to know them even better than I would have otherwise.

So today I’m celebrating hibernation, because it’s such a good excuse to read, and I have more books at my fingertips than ever!

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surviving hibernation with a good book!

  1. I am thoroughly enjoying a few days of hibernating with reading, writing, and cooking. I wish we got more snow in Virginia. Fortunately, few of us know how to drive in snow, so everything shuts down with the lightest of snows. Enjoy your hibernation.

    Like

    • Maureen Lang says:

      Oooh, cooking is another great way to enjoy hibernation! Only problem for me though is my love of baking. I might as well paste the cookies right onto my hips, because that’s where they end up. That’s another reason to love reading; it’s calorie free. What I should do is bake and then send the goodies off to schools or neighbors . . . Hey, maybe I’ll do just that . . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

