New Goals by Tara Randel

Here we are in the month of January, typically the time of year we reassess where we are in life and look ahead to what we might strive to do or change. What’s going on in our career, family, or personal health? If you look at the store circulars in the Sunday paper, you find ads for storage bins to organize our lives, fitness equipment and workout clothing. How can we not take stock of the state of our lives?

Which begs the question, goal setting, friend or enemy?

For me, the start of the year is the start of new beginnings. I pull the old calendar of the wall, go through it month by month, to make sure I transfer all the important birthdays into the empty spaces. As I flip through the old calendar, I’m reminded of what transpired last year, but the clean spaces of the new calendar beckon possibilities still to come.

For my career, I purchase a weekly planner, which I keep in my workspace. This comes in handy to keep watch on deadlines and other work related projects I have scheduled. Now that I’ve moved into the new year, let the work begin!

For my Christian walk, I’ve taken time to reflect on what God did in my life in 2013. I pray that 2014 will be an even better walk with Him. I want to grow closer to the Lord, in every aspect of my life. Does that mean penciling in time to spend with God? If it helps, why not? I talk to God constantly during my day, but when it comes to serious Bible study, I do find it better to pick a specific time to read and study.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, Jeremiah 29:11-14

Twice a year, the women in my church do an intense Bible study, usually six to eight weeks long. I always get so much out of this time. I put in a lot of study time, but it is well worth it. I find new truths about God, new revelations in the Word. And once we finish the study, I can’t wait for the next one! Studying the word keeps me engaged in my relationship with God.

Everyone has a different way to keep them motivated. We all have goals. The secret is to find something to keep you anchored to that goal and hang on during this crazy ride we call life.

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

