Love is a Journey by Hannah Alexander

Image004

Yep, I’m still writing about romance, both in my novels and on the blogs.  Why? because what beats love? There is romance between God and mankind, and girlfriends (had me some good girlfriend time this weekend, and it gave me such strength again.) There is buddy love between men who just can’t always tell their women everything, there is love of friends who will keep you straight and tell you the truth no matter what because they love you and want what’s best for you. There is painful love, and there is love with tons of laughter.

This weekend Mel and I went on a special retreat with some people we love–our clinic staff. At our last get-together, one of our staff members brought a date and announced they’ve decided to get married. I screamed–which might be why I don’t have much of a voice lately. We all hugged and loved on them–you’ve got to see our staff to believe it. God has blessed us.

So anyway, this weekend was the weekend of truth, in which our precious staff member (who is a widow at 66) and her man were thoroughly vetted to make sure he’s right for her (he’s in his early 70s) and that she’s right for him.  Both have recently lost their spouses, and so we wanted to make sure they weren’t jumping into something too quickly. I’ve always thought that those who have had a good marriage before will be eager to jump right back into marriage once again. Well, these two fit. We carried Pepto Bismol in our purses because there were to kissing couples at our retreat–Mel and me, and our two new lovebirds.

The wedding is set. Their romance is right. Why do we know? Because we questioned them both thoroughly, we made sure they both were able to accept one another’s denomination, that they were taking this all to God, and that they were both givers. Mel rode down and back to the retreat with our groom in question, and is convinced. They are now fast friends. The man makes our staff member laugh. He makes all of us laugh, he is trustworthy, and he doesn’t get mad when we forget his name and  call him Fred…no, Lee..no, Allen…no… Ralph…Oh, whatever, it’s your roll of the dice!

When they first announced their marriage, they were planning to wait a year to please everyone else. Now it’s going to be in July. Set date, no more waiting. I think we might have had something to do with talking them into not waiting. Ah, romance when you’ve done it all before and know what it’s like, and know better what to look for the second time around. I so totally believe in romance in all stages of life. I do, of course, believe in chastity, but since I do believe in chastity before marriage, I also can tell you not to make the engagement too long. Just sayin’…

What to watch for in a good future spouse who has lost that spouse to death: did he treat his former wife with love and respect? Will he respect your chastity before marriage? Does he put you first? Is he giving and loving? Is he willing to talk about anything? Are you open to listening to him talk and continue to grieve his loss? Can he do the same? Is he open to spending time with your friends? I’m sure others have more ideas. If you have them, want to help us lovebirds out?

 

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

164 Responses to Love is a Journey by Hannah Alexander

  1. angellicia says:

    So glad she’s found a new man. I’m sure it was a big change for her losing her husband and no longer having that companionship she was used to. Yay for them both!!

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    How sweet they have found one another. It’s a blessing to hear of their happiness. I am a huge fan of your books and get really excited to hear of new ones. God Bless

    Like

  3. Connie says:

    God will bless their marriage!

    Like

  4. wendy marple says:

    I really enjoy reading your books. THanks for putting out good, christian reads.
    WEndy

    Like

    • Great to see you on here, Debbie!

      Like

      • Great to be here and read your writings! I really enjoyed our interview with you and your husband on our blog last Fall and maybe one day we can do another. I’m taking a break from the stress of the blog, due to some medical issues and my eye sight is not up to par and I’m not able to read as well as I used to. And because of that, I’ve pretty much got out of the “love of reading”. I know, how sad!!!! Last year on Goodreads my goal was to read 100 book. I made 98. I would have passed my goal, but my eyes started giving me trouble last Fall and I really slacked off on the reading. This year my goal is to read 12!!!! I can read a chapter or two at a time and then when I pick the book back up in a couple of days, I’ve forgotten what I read!!! It’s very hard to really get into a book like that and impossible to do a decent book review. But I still love books and work as director of our church Media Center. Just reading and working on the computer a lot puts a lot of strain on my eyes. Hopefully, they will get better. If not, there’s always audio books! 🙂
        Debbie

        Like

  5. conniefischer says:

    I have been blessed to have been married to my wonderful husband for 47 years so far. I pray God gives us many more years together.

    Like

  6. Amyc says:

    What a beautiful story! Congratulations to them both

    Like

  7. hoosiernana59 says:

    You are very right that love is a journey and one we have been on for 37 years now. There is joy in the journey once you realize that even in the tough stuff that love is a decision you make to carry on even through the difficult stuff because as long as we live here on earth there will those times. Thank you for your encouraging posts & your wonderful books, Hannah!

    Like

  8. Carrie says:

    Congrats to the couple!

    Like

  9. Alyssa says:

    How sweet!

    Like

  10. Wendy Mastin says:

    This story is very meaningful to me. My mother-in-law passed away 6 years ago and she and my father-in-law were so close and in love. Since then he has found another love and it is so much fun to watch there friendship and love grow every day. Well deserved, I say.

    Like

  11. Shanna Burton says:

    Sweet!

    Like

  12. AnnF says:

    Thankful for God-given second chances!

    Like

  13. Joan Jones says:

    love reading these books

    Like

  14. agreateryes says:

    That is wonderful!!! God is good!!

    Like

  15. Dara Gentry says:

    Second chances are wonderful!!!!

    Like

  16. Beth Rumbaugh says:

    I have thoroughly enjoyed all the books by you that our local library has.

    Like

  17. deborahhaggerty says:

    So true – when you’ve been married before, you may tend to fall in love again quickly – you know what you need and what you are looking for.

    Like

  18. barbara corbitt says:

    if it was not for my faith, i never would have made it through so many trials in my life. the biggest one was when, because i have several health issues, my daughter an only child, quit her job moved from over seven hours away and moved in to take care of me. tragically, just four days later, she died in my arms from a blood clot to her lungs. the depression and pain are at times overwhelming. i have no family left and all my friends are busy with jobs, kids, husbands, etc and we dont talk much. i love to read and quilt. all my quilts are hand pieced, hand quilted, and donated to charity. i win some of the fabric and quilt bloggers send me a few scraps to help me out. i receive less than four hundred doallars monthly for disability so buying fabric, books or an ereader are not an option. right now, i need to have two major surgeries, but i am too high risk so the surgeon is putting me in the hospital a week before to try to make it less risky by putting me on mega doses of antibotics. thank you and the other authors for such a great giveaway. God bless, barbara babscorbitt@gmail.com

    Like

    • Barbara, I’m praying you’ll win a great bundle of books. Also praying for your health.

      Like

    • Debbie G. says:

      Barbara, I just wanted to let you know that I have added you to my prayer list. I’m so sorry for your loss and for all the trials you have been going through. I also lost a child, she was just 17 yrs old when she lost her battle with cancer. My heart goes out to you. I have also entered the giveaway but I truly hope you win it…I have my fingers crossed for you! God Bless

      ~Debbie G.

      Like

  19. susanmsj says:

    I love this post. An older couple got married a few years ago in our church. Their kids said “Don’t you want to wait and get to know each other better?” Her reply? “We are both in our 80s. We don’t have time to wait.” So cute.

    Like

  20. Mary Williams says:

    I loved the story. Its beautiful when two people can find love again after the death of their spouses.No one should ever have to go through life alone unless that is their choice. God bless them.

    Like

  21. cindyregnier says:

    Beautiful post Hannah! My MIL is a remarried widow. They are both so happy.

    Like

  22. Susan Wilson says:

    I am a remarried widow, so I can truly relate to this situation. I suppose I am one of those who was so happily married before that I wanted that same love again, quickly! I was blessed with another good man and a second wonderful son!

    Like

  23. Pam Nelson says:

    Love says it all!

    Like

  24. Sabrina says:

    I love romance. It is what helps us keep dreams alive.

    Like

  25. I too, love romance and as I get older I’m finding the need for more girlfriends. I have good friends, who have been lifelong friends and now I am blessed with new ones and those are nearby and help me recharge by laughing with me. Oh the joy of laughing with friends.

    Like

  26. Joan Arning says:

    I look forward to reading this book. Yes, girlfriends are important!

    Like

  27. Jordan Sims says:

    What a beautiful story!! I don’t have any advice, but I have to say that I hope someday to have a love like you described in the last paragraph

    Like

  28. Dev says:

    What a sweet love story!! I’m so happy for them.

    Like

  29. Jamie Adams says:

    How sweet!

    Like

  30. Jackie McNutt says:

    Thank you for such a heart touching article. Congratulations to the happy couple. Enjoyed this post

    Like

  31. Entering the giveaway

    Like

  32. Lourdes Montes says:

    Although I stopped by to enter for the giveaway, I’m really glad I got to stop by wishing the happy couple many blessings.

    Like

  33. My grandma was fortunate like that too. She was wise and almost married a guy who would have been the wrong choice, but ended up with a wonderful guy who is as much a grandpa to me as I could want.

    Like

  34. What a wonderful story! Glad they are not waiting a year, but looking forward to starting their life together.

    Like

  35. Jamie Raborn says:

    I love your books!!! I loved this blog post too. I stopped in to enter for the give away, but got engrossed in your posts, lol. Thank you for sharing some of yourself with us.

    Like

  36. Emma says:

    I stopped by to enter for the giveaway.Congratulations to the happy couple

    Like

  37. I love your story but here is a really unusual one for this day. I know a young couple (she is in college- he is mid 20s) who are set to be married in 2 months. Their very first kiss together will be on their wedding day after the vows are performed! Such character and romance- She is a very beautiful, up beat, bubbling over with personality girl that must have had scads of guys chasing her. She and her husband will be going into the ministry together after their wedding. I can not tell you how refreshing and amazing it was to learn this and how lovely to get to know this young lady. I am so blessed by them

    Like

  38. Jennifer Raymond says:

    That would be really hard to step out and love again. Not only to love another person but to still love God. Thank you for sharing your story with us. It makes my heart fell good!!

    Like

  39. Emily Faith says:

    I love tor read about stories like these! God has a great plan in store for all of us!

    Like

  40. Bethany G. says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you care enough about your friend to check out the guy and talk to them both. That’s real love!

    Like

  41. Diana D says:

    Love your books!

    Like

  42. Jenbug says:

    What a lovely story! It sounds like those two are going to be great for each other.

    Like

  43. Betti Mace says:

    I thnk it is just wonderful that the Lord gives people another chance at the joy of love!

    Like

  44. joeym11 says:

    What great love God’s love

    Like

  45. Angie Carroll says:

    I think it is great to find love again at any age as long as God is in your relationship!

    Like

  46. Kortney says:

    This helps me believe there really is love out there!

    Like

  47. juliearduini says:

    Those are great questions to ask before marriage.

    Like

  48. Tracy Perry says:

    Just found your blog. I enjoyed hearing about your friends who are about to get married. I think that’s sweet. I wanted to tell you I love the Sacred Trust series! Keep writing!

    Like

  49. shelia hall says:

    Just found your blog! Love it!

    Like

  50. Janelle F. says:

    I’ve never read any of your books but because of this giveaway, I’ve heard your name & will try to read some of your books. Thank you for your Christian novel writing!

    Like

  51. Carol Smith says:

    Because of this giveaway, I have become acquainted with you and look forward to read your books.

    Like

  52. Judy B says:

    What a great story! Reminds me of mine after I lost my husband to brain cancer. I have been happily remarried to a great Christian man. We just celebrated our 10 year anniversary!

    Like

  53. Natalie Monk says:

    So sweet that they found one another. Especially after both had suffered loss. What a sweet story! 🙂

    Like

  54. What a nice story. If only more people would be concerned about seeking God’s blessing on their mates.

    Like

  55. This is a great story. I love to hear about older people who find love a second time after losing their spouses.

    Like

  56. Sara McCarley says:

    Congratulations to the happy couple!! May God bless their marriage! That’s awesome to see two people find love again. God bless them!

    Like

  57. I like your blog and this is a great story.

    Like

  58. Kate says:

    What a neat story. I’ve always thought it would be difficult to make to decision to remarry after my spouse has passed away.

    Like

  59. Carla says:

    Congratulations to your friends. May they live happily ever after!

    Like

  60. Leslie says:

    Love this story and I’m sure I’ll love your books! I just “discovered” you through one of my favorite authors, Tamera Alexander. Can’t wait to get into yours!

    Like

  61. Jess says:

    That’s such a lovely story! Fills me with such hope for love in all ages!

    Like

  62. I have been a widow for 17 years now and I think this is a wonderful a wonderful story. She is so lucky to find love a second time.

    Like

  63. Jennifer Bretsch says:

    That is an awesome story. To find one true love in life is incredible but to be able to be blessed a second time is truly awesome. =)

    Like

  64. I’m so happy for your staff member and the new love in her life. May God bless them both to continue to grow spiritually, mentally and emotionally throughout their union.

    Like

  65. Virginia H says:

    I am so happy she has found someone to be with. What a great post!

    Like

  66. Michelle says:

    I’m not married, but it’s a sweet story!
    I also stopped by with the give-away. I loved yall’s book Safe Haven!

    Like

  67. I like what you had to say a lot. My husband and I will be married for 20 years on February 18 and my hope is something like this would happen for one of us for whoever is left behind after the other one has passed. I want either one of us to be able to find happiness again and then also to have enough people who care about us to do what you guys did. It’s a special thing to watch or hear about when you know you are so loved by those around you.

    Like

  68. I’m always happy when someone who has lost their spouse finds love again. But I think waiting a year is a good thing. Especially when the death was after a long health battle. I’m thinking of friends who have lost a parent and were looking forward to finally spending time with the surviving parent. Often the survivor was busy being caretaker and didn’t participate in family events or holiday gatherings. When the ill parent passed away, the adult children expected to have more time with the survivor, but when they remarry quickly often the children and grandchildren feel they lost both parents/grandparents.

    Like

  69. Jan Hall says:

    I am so glad that they found each other and that they have had great friends to make sure that they were doing the right thing. My dad remarried soon after my mom died. For the wrong reasons and to the wrong people. Two divorces later he spent some time on his own and then finally found a great woman who helped him to return to the lord.

    Like

  70. Lisa Medeiros says:

    That is amazing! 🙂 Blessings to them both!

    Like

  71. Laurie G says:

    What a sweet story! My neighbor in Florida married his sweetheart when they were both in their early 80’s. He lived to be 96 and she 97. They were so happy and perfect for each other. They stated that they had been so lonely before they found each other.

    Best wishes to the happy couple!

    Like

  72. Annette Gardner says:

    Absolutely beautiful story – My father-in-law lost his wife many years ago, and found that special love again with my mother-in-“love” (as I call her!) for 35 years now!

    Like

  73. Carol Moncado says:

    What a great story!

    Like

  74. Pam K. says:

    Thank you for sharing this special love story. It encourages me. I hope they will have many happy years together.

    Like

  75. Lovely story, Hannah! Thank you for sharing with us…:) I look forward to reading your books.

    Like

  76. Thank you for sharing this book. Loved it. Judy F

    Like

  77. booksaver says:

    I think it’s wonderful that these two found each other.

    Linda Henderson

    Like

  78. mjggrandma says:

    You gotta love a good love story. 🙂

    Like

  79. chrisinpslc says:

    Great story. My mentor re-married and I love seeing them . . . their love is precious, different than the first marriages (spouses had died yrs. ago) but they still work at it and as such a blessing to my husband and I! Thanks for your books! Blessings

    Like

  80. Tammy Sotela says:

    What a sweet love story. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  81. Debbie G. says:

    Thank you for participating in such a great giveaway! I also loved reading about the sweet romance/ love story that you shared. I wish them much happiness!

    Like

  82. Carol Edwards says:

    This was so sweet to read.

    Like

  83. Heidi says:

    That is so wonderful. How sweet!

    Like

  84. Debra Kay Neiman says:

    My husband and I were chaste before marriage and have been together for 42 years now…he is my best friend. I really enjoyed your post. crystalbluern at onlineok dot com

    Like

  85. Thank you for sharing this sweet story.

    Like

  86. Sarah Richmond says:

    Sweet story Hannah!!!

    Like

  87. Lisa Nelson says:

    Thank you for sharing, sounds like you give good advice!

    Like

  88. stacey dale says:

    Amen. Love is a one step at a time journey that isn’t always found on smooth terrain.

    Like

  89. Cindi Altman says:

    What a sweet and loving story of second time loves. I wish the best for this couple.
    Having Christian friends being so supportive is something all couples should be blessed to experience.

    Like

  90. Rita Wray says:

    Lovely story.

    Like

  91. What a beautiful story of love! WIsh them all the best! It’s wonderful to have such support!

    Like

  92. Elaine Jordan says:

    What a great love story. When my parents married, they weren’t Christians – so lots of difficulties. Was such a blessing when my mom married a 2nd time later in life to a wonderful Christian man.

    Like

  93. Sandie says:

    Congratulations to the lovebirds and thank you to you and Mel for your part in helping them to get ready. Especially at that age, why wait? We don’t know what tomorrow brings!

    Like

  94. Bonnie Roof says:

    I think a common faith is the most important thing in a marriage – have a close relationship with Christ is the answer to life’s problems.

    Like

  95. Grace Winn says:

    Have loved your books for a while now. Shared them with my Mom and my daughter too.

    Like

  96. Melissa Grace says:

    What a touching romantic story! Wishing them both the best! 🙂

    Like

  97. Velma Hunsucker says:

    I love a good romantic story!

    Like

  98. Wanda B says:

    I am so happy to hear about your friend’s wedding! I wish them all the best in their future together. 🙂

    Like

  99. Sweet Love story and cool God brought them together.

    I really enjoy your books.

    Like

  100. Pegg Thomas says:

    I love that you helped your friends with this. I wish wise friends would have counseled Dad before he jumped into marriage again after Mom died. He was lonely. He needed someone. And he didn’t choose wisely. Very sad. Choosing wisely – this cannot be over-expressed – is very, very important for ultimate, long-term happiness.

    Like

  101. How blessed they are to have godly council and a second chance for love. 🙂

    Like

  102. Sharon Miller says:

    I liked the question: Is he willing to talk about anything? best. sharon m

    Like

  103. Rachael Merritt says:

    Find a man who is willing to marry you in a wheelchair with a disorder you have had for ten years and isn’t getting better. I did! More to the point God did! 🙂

    Like

  104. Mary Brandis says:

    Wonderful story of a man and woman meeting through God. Sweet that you and others checked him out that he would be a good match for your friend. It sounds like he enjoys to laugh because he laughed with your group. You covered all the questions to ask him.

    Like

  105. Hannah says:

    I stopped by to enter the giveaway, and I adore your books!

    Like

  106. michelespeer says:

    today’s society does not see ‘love’ as you have commented and written about, a moral and true love is a rarity…i did not have this type of love shared with me by my ex but am so happy to say that real men ARE out there and i have finally found my one true love! 🙂

    Like

  107. Marilyn Vandivier says:

    That is so awesome that this couple have found each other. Congratulations to them.

    Like

  108. Andrea Cox says:

    How sweet… a second chance at a new love.

    Like

  109. Tina Hoover says:

    Can’t wait~

    Like

  110. Heather Manning says:

    What an awesome read! Thank You!!!

    Like

  111. Amanda D says:

    Wonderful story!

    Like

  112. Rachel Savage says:

    Very sweet!

    Like

  113. Donna Moore says:

    I love that they didn’t stop loving after the death of their spouse and finding a second chance at love is a blessing.

    Like

  114. Katrina Pender says:

    Beautiful stories!

    Like

  115. Cyndi W. says:

    I wish my grandmother would’ve asked these questions before she remarried after my grandfather died. It would’ve saved her MUCH grief! I love hearing stories like this when it works! 🙂 LOVE your books!

    Like

  116. Donna Carraher says:

    I enjoy reading your books!

    Like

  117. Stella Potts says:

    I enjoy your books so much and now look forward to reading your blog. Keep up the good work you are doing for our Lord!

    Like

  118. griperang says:

    I am new to your blog, it sure looks nice. Thank you for sharing

    Like

  119. Love certainly is a journey. God mentions love so many times throughout His Word, the Bible. It is why He created us: to love and be loved. Thank you for sharing this post as well as allowing His love to shine through your books. Keep on writing and letting His light shine through!

    Like

  120. librarypat says:

    They are both so lucky to have such good friends. Finding a good match can be difficult. When you think you have the right person, there is sometimes a nagging question that you might have missed something. Knowing you have loving friends who have your best interests in mind, can help. “Vetting” by that type of group can help solve that problem. It is still their decision, but they can make it with a lighter heart and clearer mind. In the end, their hearts will be the determining factor.

    Like

  121. Pam D says:

    Isn’t wonderful when we see God working in others lives.

    Like

  122. Trudi says:

    I love reading such sweet stories!

    Like

  123. Lou P says:

    Love reading your books!

    Like

  124. Melissa C says:

    How sweet! Congratulations to them! 🙂

    Like

  125. Ann Waters says:

    You said that our relationship between God and ourselves is a love story and that is so true.

    Like

  126. Stephanie C. says:

    Romance is wonderful at any age and phase of life! So heartwarming to hear of these two finding one another! Wishing them a wonder marriage! Thank you for sharing their story!

    Like

  127. Connie Saunders says:

    Love is wonderful at any age

    Like

  128. angela smith says:

    great story.congrats to the couple

    Like

  129. susielin says:

    Wonderful story!

    Like

  130. Love this post 🙂 thank you for taking the time to write it!!

    Like

  131. holly says:

    Aw, precious to find love again. Wish them all the best.

    Like

  132. This is award worthy. I know from experience. Seventeen years since my husband died, and I’ve seen different rats coming from every corner. I kept my years with him as the standard, and nobody else comes close. Unfortunately, there are old biddies (like I am) who still think they’re not complete without a man in their life (not like I am).

    Like

  133. Can’t wait to read your stuff. You are a new Author to me but one I will be sure to check out. 🙂

    Like

  134. Robin M says:

    What a great story.

    Like

  135. ohiosarah says:

    I enjoyed reading this – as a married woman for 13 years I’m still not fully on the romance stuff, I wasn’t raised by parents who were romantic or showed love and so that is a constant in our marriage, my husband though is the exact opposite he wants romance and kisses and hugs, etc so I have nothing to offer.

    Like

  136. Kim Steidle says:

    It is so good to start a new relationship with the inclusion of trusted and caring friends!

    Like

  137. lori byrd says:

    Very nice reading. Thank you

    Like

  138. Such a sweet love story and what true and honoring friends you are.

    Like

  139. gee20dix says:

    A wonderful love story. Definitely many blessings ahead.

    Like

  140. Stephanie J says:

    Such a sweet love story! God bless!

    Like

  141. Brandilyn Y says:

    Very Sweet story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

