New Year Reflection by Tara Randel

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been one to make new year’s resolutions. To sit down and make a list of things I need to do or change seems a bit daunting. Since life can change so much in a year, how is it possible to be successful? Instead of making resolutions, I like to take a scripture and concentrate on understanding the Word to better enrich my life. Reflection. A much better word.

Last year I, spend many months getting back to basics in my Christian walk. Due to personal grief, I wanted to renew my relationship with Christ and grow deeper in my walk with God. I wanted to understand why certain things had happened and how I could accept the outcome with more grace. I spent many months reading the Word, but mainly, spent lots of quiet time with God, talking to Him and listening to His response. Yes, if we talk to God, He answers. It’s up to us to find time alone with Him, seek Him and hear His voice.

In my quest to hear God’s voice, I learned a lot about Him and myself. This year, I feel renewed in my spirit and welcome a new challenge in my walk of faith. I want His glory to be evident in everything I do. God has blessed me with a writing career and I will not squander the opportunities given me.

This year, I’ve chosen Gal 2:20 to study. I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Going back to basics last year encouraged me to focus on the life I now live for Christ. How will He use me? What can I do to have an impact on His kingdom? Lots of new questions, but I have faith my God will answer me.

In this new year of 2014, I challenge you to step up your personal time with God. Find a scripture in the Word you can mediate on, a scripture that will not only change your walk with God, but renew your spirit to be the best for God that you can be. Believe me, there will be tears and soul bearing, but there will also be joy and rejuvenation. Growing closer to God is a journey worth taking. I can’t wait to get started. How about you?

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

