My Techie Thanksgiving

You can tell it’s NaNoWriMo month, I forgot to post once or twice. I apologize. November is always a busy month around here, and that’s without the fun of writing a 50K novel in 30 days!

I thought I’d share a fun tradition I’ve had with my family for Thanksgiving. Growing up when I knew it was Thanksgiving I knew there would be stuffing. Pumpkin pie. Celery with cream cheese. Fruit salad. Homemade gravy.

Thanksgiving photo: Thanksgiving 3184734z0fb8q7zyz.jpg

Then I got married and had kids, and the last few Thanksgiving days it has been just us at home. The first year I prepared the same foods I grew up with. Then I watched many of the foods go untouched. My kids don’t like pumpkin pie. No one but me likes the celery and cream cheese. I was disappointed at first, but then I figured why not make this a family event where everyone has a say?

We’re a plugged in family. My husband is a programmer and our teen son is gifted in the same area. Our tween somehow got custody of the family iPad and is pretty good at it. With that in mind, I created a survey for them to fill out so I would know how to plan the Thanksgiving meal.

Some of the questions are silly, but most give me a good idea what to put on the grocery list for the big day. I started this three years ago, and this year our daughter asked why I hadn’t sent out the survey yet. Well, I got right on it.

It would have been tempting to grieve the changes I grew up with, but instead I chose to make new memories with my own family. For that, I’m thankful. As you prepare for your day, I thought I’d give you a glimpse of our little survey. You don’t have to answer it, but I thought it would give you a smile as you’re knee deep in gravy and stuffing.

Click here to take survey

Have a blessed, laughter-filled Thanksgiving.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

