Give Thanks by Tara Randel

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. 1 Chronicles 16:34

20131106_155623

 

Every year, in the month of November, I begin to ponder the things I am grateful for. Family and friends. Health. Success in my writing endeavors. If I sat down to write out a list, I’d probably be surprised how long it is. And I’d be thankful for a long list.

With twenty-four hour news stations and constant content on our electronic devices bringing us all kind of news reports, it is easy to be affected by so much negativity in our world. True, there are uplifting stories sprinkled in, but they are too few and far between for me. Because news outlets have to come up with stories to fill time, we get TMI. If you are a news junkie, you’d probably disagree. I like my news in moderation, so I’m not overwhelmed by things I have no control over. I guess that’s why I prefer to sit down with a good book. Or better yet, write my own books. At least in my creative world I have some control on the outcome of my story.

 Getting back to being thankful. I searched for scriptures I hope will inspire you to think of all the good things the Lord has done for you or brought into your life.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. Psalm 100:4

 

Always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. Ephesians 5:20

 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6

 

I read on a friend’s Facebook post that she was going to take each day to thank God for one specific thing. I encourage you to do so as well, but go one step further and write it down. Hopefully you will have a nice, long list and as the month comes to a close, be reminded of what you are most thankful for.

 

 

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

