HALLOWEEN and WRITING: FEARFUL or FUN?

A friend sent this to me:

 Two  brooms were hanging in the closet and  after  a while they got to know each other so  well,  they decided to get married.

 One broom  was, of course, the bride broom, the  other the groom broom.

 The bride broom  looked very beautiful in her white  dress. The groom broom was handsome and  suave in his tuxedo. The wedding was lovely. 

 After the wedding, at the wedding  dinner, the bride-broom  leaned over and said to the groom-broom,’I  think I am going to have a little whisk broom!’ 

 ‘IMPOSSIBLE !’ said the groom broom. 

 

Are  you ready for this?

Brace yourself; this is  going to hurt! 

 ‘WE  HAVEN’T EVEN SWEPT  TOGETHER!’

 =====================================

The animation to that little spot of humor was adorable

But I wasn’t able to get it on here (technologically impaired!)

 Then my friend sent an email and said she hoped I wasn’t offended by the joke and at first I couldn’t imagine why she said that. Then it dawned on me on how easily, quickly many people become offended by what another considers harmless or innocent.

My thoughts went to Halloween and the differing views. Churches have Fall Festivals instead of Halloween. Some people fear the occult and dangerous aspects of Halloween past and present. Others see it simply as a time for children to have fun and get candy. Children line the streets in costumes that are fearful like a werewolf, adorable like a little lamb, heroic like an action figure, sweet like a princess, and gory like a sword stuck through the skull. Many perspectives and attitudes.

That turned my thinking to writing. With the many changes and uncertainty about publishing, a writer may very well be fearful of print books going by the wayside. Others see the challenge and fun of ebooks, maybe self-publishing, and their work being available at the click of a button (a little more difficult for me!)

 Writing is always work, regardless. But are the prospects for publication fearful or fun for you?

 The Bible, Jesus himself, tells us over and over, “Fear not” about many things.

 That isn’t always easy, whether it applies to writing or other parts of our lives. But I try to keep in mind one of my favorite passages in the Bible that instructs me on what the perspective of my personal and writing life should be like. Upon where I should take my fears and upon whom I am dependent for all things and what my attitude should be.

             “Blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8

 

About yvon63

Author of 50 novels. Director of Blue Ridge Christian "Autumn in the Mountains" Novelist Retreat held annually in October, in the panoramic mountains of western North Carolina.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

