The Government Shutdown is Stranger than Fiction

The past couple of weeks I’ve attempted to research for a new story idea. I say “attempted” because I keep running up against this message:

“Because of the federal government shutdown, national parks are closed and the National Park Service website is not being maintained.”

http://www.nps.gov/shutdown/index.html )

Someone took the time to create a landing page for government websites. I haven’t checked other government websites, but the national parks web pages are shut down. Doesn’t it cost  more money to do this than to just leave the website operational?

And I’m not sure “shutdown” is actually the correct word here because the website is there, I’m just not allowed to view it. That means I’ll just have to go around the government websites and view all the private websites about the national parks to find the information I need.

But this is only a minor inconvenience compared to other national park shutdown experiences. In one such story, tourists from all over the world were visiting Yellowstone National Park when the government shut down. Talk about being in the wrong place at the wrong time.  According to the Newburyport News, tourists were kept locked in a hotel by an armed guard. What in the world?

Many more such stories can be found at this Worldmag.com article.

What I find in common with the various situations is how strange they are. Unbelievable, in fact. I don’t think I could put any of these stories in a novel because they’re just too strange. No one would ever believe the U.S. Government would do such a thing.

Am I right?

goddard-LR-2 (2)Elizabeth Goddard is the award-winning author of over a dozen romance and romantic suspense novels. Find out more at ElizabethGoddard,com

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Government Shutdown is Stranger than Fiction

  1. kristen heitzmann says:

    It is only the beginning, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

