The Resonating Quote by Julie Arduini

Last week our pastor gave a sermon that not only had great principles, but even a statement that seemed off the cuff. It’s still resonating with me, a week or so later.

“You can hang on, or move on.”

I tend to be a black or white perspective person, so this quote got me.

There are so many circumstances in my life where this quote applies.

  • Writing delays (I lost months of writing time with a broken wrist.)
  • Marriage challenges. I’m human, and so is my husband. We’ve had mountains, and we’ve experienced valleys. When we’re in a hard place, it’s tempting to remember our words as much as I take notes during sermons.
  • Other relationships. Family and friends are our inner circle and safest people. That’s probably why the wounds run deep.

I’ve walked out the hang on choice, and it turns into a slow crawl filled with burdens we aren’t meant to carry. No matter how busy my schedule, the topic I’m not willing to let go dominates my thoughts. My conversation. My everything. Because I’m so wrapped up in hanging on, even innocent statements from others become more proof in my eyes that I was done wrong. It’s a toxic way to live, and dare I write, contagious. I’ve been in an environment with one person hanging on. And it didn’t take long for the entire room to be transformed and sharing the negativity.

choose photo: Choose choose.jpg

I’ve also marveled in the path called moving on. It isn’t the easier choice, but it is the healthier and most blessed way to live. Sometimes I only moved forward in baby steps accomplished by uttering the name of Jesus over and over. That’s still a victory, and I don’t take those moments for granted.

There’s so much to be angry and stay furious about. But hanging on is a toxic choice that affects others, and your own walk with the Lord. Moving on is a slow process, but it’s healthy and you can’t put a price tag on the blessings.

 

photobucket image

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

