Word Pictures by Julie Arduini

I’m a visual person.

Not in the spatial relations way where you show me an unfolded box on a test and ask me to put the box together in my head and mark off the steps.

No. I’m horrible at that.

But I learn so much about life and my faith in Christ through object lessons and word pictures.

Years ago my fear of opening a tube of biscuits reminded me of Jesus’ return.

Crazy, I know.

But not knowing when that pop was coming made me aware and on guard. It’s a lesson I haven’t forgotten.

Watching my then pre school daughter open up her Dora the Explorer backback with a map inside was a lesson on God’s word. If Dora always had a map to consult to get her through life, shouldn’t I  consult my Bible?

Often when I pray I will have a visual moment that helps me draw closer to my Heavenly Father. Years ago when I struggled understanding His loving nature I saw me in a twirly gown waltzing with Jesus. He was kind, fun , and it was an intimate snapshot that really helped me.

Somethings the pictures are convicting. Not condemning, but a challenge I process long after the moment.

Take this week. The sermon was on surrender. I’m also facilitating a Bible study on Lysa TerKeurst’s Unglued. Many principles of that book crossed into the sermon. Although my life is based on surrender, there’s always something I’m holding back on.

I’m afraid.

Scared of rejection.

Not sure what’s around the corner.

And in the prayer time I saw me in one of those trust-fall exercises. The one where you have a partner who promises to catch you, but you have to take the risk to fall. As a child I absolutely refused to play that game. I didn’t trust anyone and the fear of more rejection was so strong I wouldn’t even try.

It’s still an issue for me, although not as severe.

In the picture, Jesus is my partner. He’s standing right where He needs to be to catch me.

And I move before falling, so that by my own choice, I fall flat.

Ouch.

I appreciate those visuals because I can chew on it for days and weeks, going to God with it. And this week my hands are up in surrender. I don’t want to be afraid or choose a fall, especially when Jesus is there and will catch me. I’ve been through enough to know He’s got me. Always. But just like the real lie Eve bought from the defeated one, I sometimes believe He won’t be enough. Won’t get the job done.

And I move away and fall flat on my back.

Can you relate to trust issues? 

Are you someone that responds to object lessons, word pictures or visuals?

 

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

