What It’s Like to Win a Christy by James L. Rubart

As you might know, I won a Christy (what I call the Oscars of Christian fiction)  at the end of last month in St Louis. It was surreal. Here are two reasons why:

Christy winners pic from Ty 6 '13

Christy winners ’13

I’ve dreamed of winning a Christy Award ever since I dreamed of writing novels. To be standing up there with many, many authors, agents, and editors who had helped me and inspired me was a thrill.

In 2002 I read a book that utterly captured me: Arena, by Karen Hancock. It truly is Pilgrims Progress for this age. I went on to read Karen’s Legends of the Guardian-King series and loved them too. She became one of my favorite authors.

IMG_5872

Karen Hancock and James L. Rubart

On awards night they gave out a Lifetime Achievement Christy to Karen. Yep, she was there was on stage handing out the Christys to all the winning authors. So cool to get my award from an author I’ve admired for a long time.

IMG_5876

Bad high five with Susie Warren

Also making the night special was that after six nominations, my great friend Susie Warren final won a Christy! Way to go Susie!

IMG_5889

Susie Warren, me, Tosca Lee

Okay, enough celebrating … gotta get back to writing. 

About James L. Rubart

Husband, Dad, Author, Speaker
This entry was posted in James L. Rubart, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What It’s Like to Win a Christy by James L. Rubart

  1. diannegsagan says:

    Congratulations, James! That is so amazing. I’m still a dreamer and still writing, but am very excited for you.

    Like

  2. larrywtimm says:

    Congratulations, Jim! What a wonderful accomplishment. And it was a great thrill & pleasure to meet you at the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference. You are indeed one of my favorite writers.

    Like

  3. Terri Picone says:

    Jim, this proves you are truly a magician. One that deserves the applause. Congratulations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

