What Sort of Reader Are You? by Kathi Macias

I’m never shocked (though certainly disappointed) by a negative review of one of my books. As the old saying goes, you can’t please all the people all the time. But I must admit that I am more than slightly surprised when people comment (or even post reviews) on one of my books that make me wonder if they even read it.

Case in point. One of my most recent releases, Last Chance for Justice, was a major departure from my usual fare–international intrigue, suspense, murder, persecution, human trafficking, etc. Last Chance for Justice is just a nice, easy summer read–a small-town story that’s part of a larger small town (Bloomfield) multi-author series. The book/series blurb is quite clear on that, and I was even more clear when a social network friend asked about getting a copy. I specifically told her what it was about and how is was different from what she was used to reading from me. She bought it anyway, and then complained about being disappointed at the slow pace, saying it “wasn’t what she expected” from an author known for more intense books.

May I say that’s more than slightly confusing for an author? I know that sort of thing goes with the territory, but it’s made me wonder if readers are more locked in to what they expect from a particular writer than with just reading a good story, regardless of genre. As an author who tends to cross genres (and even color outside the lines) on occasion, I’d love to hear from readers. Are you strongly genre-focused when looking for a book, more author-focused, or just looking for a good read, regardless of genre? Do you want your favorite authors to stay on point, staying within expected genres, or are you open to an occasional deviation?

LastChanceJustice

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Kathi Macias and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Sort of Reader Are You? by Kathi Macias

  1. Heather H. says:

    I will give any genre or author a try. A good books is a good book, regardless of label. I review books and have other opportunities that give me a nudge in reading outside of my comfort zone. Though I’m basically like Mikey from the cereal commercial, I’ll consume any well written book. I loved your analogy about writing (or coloring) outside the lines. I’m a librarian and I always encourage my patrons to “read outside the covers” of what they’re comfortable with. It sounds like you gave the “confused” reviewer fair warning. I recently read a book via Netgalley that hasn’t been published yet and the book blurb contains a major untrue statement about the book that several reviewers have noted. The blurb is on all the major sites where the book is sold and is very misleading. It makes the book sound much more interesting than it is. I don’t think a bad review of a book has ever kept me from reading it. So I wouldn’t worry to much about it. We all have our critics.

    Like

Leave a Reply

