Those Super Feelings by Julie Arduini

I have a confession. I am a Superman superfan. Not quite in the Nicholas Cage department where I named my son Kal-El, but I remember watching the Christopher Reeve version as a child and becoming swept up in the story, romance, patriotism, and family themes before I really even fully understood them.

Through the years I re-watched that version, along with Dean Cain’s version on TV with Lois and Clark. Although I didn’t quite fit their demographic, I watched every single episode of Smallville, right down to the finale when Clark finally donned the cape and flew off to save the world. Cry? No. Bawled was more like it.

man of steel photo: teaser man_of_steel_xxlg_zps2640a759.jpgI’ve tried to figure out what it is that gets me so involved and emotional when it comes to this nerdy journalist who flies around in tights to keep Metropolis safe. Although I’ve yet to watch Man of Steel, I believe former Governor Mike Huckabee has the answer.

Here is what he shared on his Facebook page:

The new Superman movie, “Man Of Steel,” reportedly shattered June box office records by raking in $125 million over the four-day Fathers Day weekend. That despite some worries in Hollywood after critics pointed out the film has Christian undertones. They noted that it’s the story of how a father in the heavens sends his only son to Earth to save humanity and stand as an example of goodness for all mankind. Some people in Hollywood apparently thought that might keep audiences away. How out of touch with reality ARE they?

I’ve learned over the years that I’m pretty sensitive spiritually. I believe even before I knew Christ in a personal way, He was wooing me in with messages that for most of the world, were clearly meant to entertain. Apparently Man of Steel has been overt in placing these themes for the masses to contemplate.

Even as a kid I knew Superman wasn’t God or a true, real Savior. But here’s what I continue to feel and get all weepy about when I watch any version:

-A baby arrives in this world, but not of it.

-A toddler adopted who has a strong connection to his biological Father, but very much loved by his adopted.

-His biological Father is the source of all wisdom.

-Clark’s true purpose is to come to Earth to save it.

-He steals away to the Fortress of Solitude for time alone with His Father, to re-charge and re-group.

-He’s going to choose good when tempted (I’ll conveniently ignore his private times with Lois, just go with me here) and have a showdown with evil.

-He will always win in the end.

I think even as a child those themes resonated with me and continue to draw me in not so much as a fan of a comic book hero, but out of thankfulness for the real Savior. I’m a true justice girl where I long for good to prevail, and Jesus is the ultimate good and victory. When I truly think about those things, I’m overcome.

And when I see it play out in fiction, I think my heart returns to those same themes, and gratitude.

How about you? Is there a fiction story, show, or film that always brings out your emotions that you believe has deeper meaning? I’d love to hear what you think. Also, if you saw Man of Steel, did the Christian overtones appear to you?

photobucket image

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Those Super Feelings by Julie Arduini

  1. Julie, you’ll have to report back after you’ve seen Man of Steel! I went last night with one of my sons and loved it. Not perfect, some things I would have done different, but enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Yes, definite Christ undertones … but eternity is written on our hearts, and it comes out in Hollywood stories more often than we sometimes realize.

    Like

    • juliearduini says:

      I can’t wait to go. My son is going with his youth group tonight and I look forward to hearing what he thinks.I love that a church group is going together. Thanks, Jim, for sharing.

      Like

  2. Beth Goddard says:

    Hey Julie! I was going to write this post! LOL But you’ve done a beautiful job. Always love your spiritual posts. Loved the movie. Loved it. Definite spiritual undertones and overtones and my sons even saw things there that I didn’t. But definitely, I’m always seeing the God in movies, even in bad movies–my heart pulls out the Good, the redemptive. When the first Lord of the Rings came out on DVD, I watched it repeatedly and just sat there and cried at the spiritual stuff pouring from the movie. We are kindred spirits.

    Like

  3. juliearduini says:

    Beth,
    We definitely sound like kindred spirits. The other movies that resonated with me were Evan Almighty and although I didn’t watch the whole thing because I’m afraid of snakes, Indiana Jones when he takes the leap of faith. I watched LOTR as part of a Bible study and found it fascinating.

    I keep reading mixed reviews on the newest Superman. A lot of people say it is too loud and jarring and not something they were able to be emotionally invested in. I can’t wait to check it out for myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

