Do You Ever Take a Chance on a Different Genre? by James L. Rubart

I did. On Sunday.

I was winging my way to Nashville to record the audio version of Memory’s Door (sequel to Soul’s Gate) when I powered my my Kindle and looked through the hundreds of free e-books I’ve downloaded but never read.

I came across my friend, Kristin Billerbeck’s novel, Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel

41-LNoTCxcL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_

I figured, that’s a genre I’ve never tried. Why not? True confession time. I loved it. Love her voice, it made me laugh out loud, I was hooked immediately.

Have you ever done that? Take a chance on a genre outside your norm? If you have, what happened? Good? Bad? Are you going to try it again? And those of you who haven’t; have you considered trying something new?

Inquiring James’s want to know.

About James L. Rubart

Husband, Dad, Author, Speaker
This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, James L. Rubart, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do You Ever Take a Chance on a Different Genre? by James L. Rubart

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    My book club is responsible for choosing a variety of books I normally wouldn’t read on my own – but I’m not sure it qualifies as a separate genre because most of the titles are mainstream, which is something I’ve always read. However, within that hard-to-limit-genre we’ve read books with horror elements (tame, thank goodness!) mystical angles, several novels translated from other languages that might have missed my notice without someone else’s taste dictating the selection and even non-fiction books which I normally choose only when I’m researching material for my own books. So even though they fall under an umbrella I’m comfortable with, the selections have often stretched my experience beyond what I’d choose. I’m often delighted, at least with various aspects if not the whole. We just finished “Still Alice” which is about a brilliant professor diagnosed with Alzheimer’s – the (depressing) topic wouldn’t have been my choice, but I’m glad I read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

