Reflecting on Reputation by Julie Arduini

As I type this, updates continue to come in from Moore, Oklahoma.  My Facebook list isn’t huge by any means and I’m seeing several friends checking in and reporting on the devastation. Chances are there is someone here at Christians Read affected. My prayers are with you.

***

Speaking of Facebook, a funny thing has been happening on my personal page lately. I’ve been tagged by friends who saw a chocolate image or quote and thought of me. Not only do I find it humorous, I think it’s confirmation I’m on the right track. Not so much building a reputation (although as a chocoholic I’m guilty as charged) but growing a brand. As a writer and speaker I want them to see my name and think surrender and chocolate.

Something else happened recently that made me think of how people view me. Last week I left a room and a woman ran out after me. She explained she had a prayer request and asked that I pray. The she said, “I had to tell you because you’re a prayer warrior.” That’s certainly not something I put on business cards or where on my clothes. Through my actions she felt that was an accurate depiction. That’s character.

One of my favorite quotes is by Charles Spurgeon, “May your character be inscribed on a rock and not written in the sand.” After the exchange with the woman I reflected on what she said.

written in sand photo: jesus lobs u jesus-loves-you-written-in-the-sand.jpg

In the different places I go, am I the same person? You know the type, the one that quotes Scriptures with you in church but curses a blue streak in the bowling alley? That’s not how I want to be. The more I thought of it, my answer went back to Facebook.

A few years ago I was one of thousands hacked in a concentrated attack by a radical religious group. It made the news, and it was reported that Christians were targeted. When I was hacked, I knew right away. How? Because people were reading my lewd and belligerent status updates and responses to friend’s walls and realized they couldn’t be from me. It was the total opposite of what they were used to reading. Whoever had my account even argued with one of my pastors regarding Deuteronomy and I joked he had to know immediately it wasn’t me, when would I ever know enough about Deuteronomy to argue a pastor?

Friends called and texted me, readers went to my page to defend me and call the hacker out. When I re gained control I decided to use my reputation to fight back. I wrote a new status update claiming for those who truly understand me, I’d never be at the store the hacker claimed, any money I had would be spent on chocolate. Then I wrote a blog post letter to the hackers letting them know by targeting Christians and making my account one of the compromised, that was a blessing. It meant the true defeated one must be desperate, and I must be making an impact for the Kingdom of Christ. It only fueled me to keep writing for Him.

How about you? Have you ever thought what reputation you have, and does it line up with what you want it to be? I don’t mean you’ve lost a good name over a bad day, but if you think people are defining you in a way you’re not comfortable with, there’s time to change it. Not sure what your reputation is? Ask people in various parts of your life. A spouse, child, co worker, the check-out person at your favorite store–you’re sure to learn what about you is inscribed on rock, and what about you needs to get thrown in the sand.

Photobucket image

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on Reputation by Julie Arduini

  1. Carol Weeks says:

    I really liked this post. I’ve had some of the same things happen to me, especially the prayer warrior thing, which is a tag I’m not worthy of. Your defense of your Facebook page was right on. Loved it! And the quote by Charles Spurgeon is one worth remembering.

    Like

Leave a Reply

