Three Take-Aways Regarding Surrender by Julie Arduini

Last week I had the pleasure of sharing my surrender journey with Dawn Mac and her Life Beats radio audience. Despite the technology glitches threatening our chat, there were a few themes that I think apply to anyone, whether they write or not.

1. It’s a process. I knew I wanted to write since the 6th grade. Unfortunately, I didn’t receive a great education when it came to grammar. Teachers told me to make writing a hobby, not a life. It took a personal relationship with Christ that started after college, growing in that relationship, and time to surrender the fears and write. When I finally yielded to the call on my life and promised to write for Him, I was thirty-six years old.

I mentor women in both group and one-on-one settings and it’s a regular reminder that surrender is a process. I think we put way more pressure on ourselves than Christ does.

2. You feel alone, but you aren’t. I believe my spiritual life comes in seasons much like natural ones. When it’s a personal winter, that’s when I surrender the most, and feel desolate. Sometimes the things God asks me to let go of aren’t bad things, it’s just time. Releasing things or people is painful and raw, but I’ve come to learn God’s purposes are to grow me. Winter is a preparation time. I trust Him. When I feel the most alone, I remember Hosea 2:14, NIV.

Therefore I am now going to allure her;
    I will lead her into the wilderness
    and speak tenderly to her.

He indeed speaks to me in the harsh winds and difficult times. I’m better because of them. Because of Him.

3. Freedom is worth the pain. Surrender is hard. I’ve surrendered fears, the past, bad habits, and even people. It’s never easy. One of the questions Dawn asked was what does freedom through surrender look like? It’s hard to put into words, but I assure you, it’s worth the journey.

The story I shared was how obsessed I was with being accepted and feeling like I was enough. I worried so much what people thought

From A Taste of Home, where I got the idea to dazzle my in-laws with this years ago.

From A Taste of Home, where I got the idea to dazzle my in-laws with this years ago.

of me I would lose sleep imagining what others must be saying about me. As a newlywed and a very craft-challenged person, I felt I couldn’t show up to Christmas dinner without bringing a centerpiece. A handcrafted one. An eggplant carved into a penguin that I stayed up until 2am to finish. Guess what? No one noticed the thing. Their focus was on family, and I was part of theirs. Once I surrendered that fear, I lived far from them and wasn’t able to bring things to dinner like before. It didn’t matter. I walked through the doors knowing I belonged, and just coming was enough. It was the most freeing feeling in the world.

Although having surrender as a theme is a daunting task because I realize I have to live it before I share it, I had the opportunity to tell the Life Beats audience that I’m blessed to do this. I’m a speaker, mentor, non fiction writer, and now as a fiction writer hoping to publish a fun, quirky romance filled with the Adirondack Mountains and chocolate. Even in a romance genre there is a surrender thread where characters have to literally let go and let God.

Something I think we can all relate to.

If you’d like to listen to the broadcast, click here.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Three Take-Aways Regarding Surrender by Julie Arduini

  1. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    Like

  2. Rosaria says:

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say
    fantastic blog!

    Like

  3. Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with then you can write otherwise it is complicated to
    write.

    Like

  4. naturally like your web site but you have to test
    the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find
    it very troublesome to tell the reality on the other hand I
    will certainly come back again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

