Have You Read This Guy Lately? By Hannah Alexander

I have a habit of reading an author’s book, then if I like it, I’ll find all of that author’s other titles and read them back to back, overdosing on the style and characters and stories created by that one author. I’m sure no one else has ever done this, right? It’s something I wish more readers would do with my books. I have a lot of favorite novelists, and James Scott Bell has always been one of them.

If you haven’t read Jim’s books yet, you’re in for a treat, and the best way to test the waters is to find one of his novelettes online at a very reasonable price and download it to your ereader of choice (Sorry, Jim Rubart, but it’s only on ebook). My latest favorite character of his is a nun named Sister Justicia Marie, and Justicia is a name with meaning. She kicks bad-guy butt with style in Force of Habit.

Something I’ve always looked for in a good novel is humor. I’m not talking over-the-top humor or slapstick comedy, but just the right set of words at the right time so the trials of my favorite characters don’t draw me into depression. Both Force of Habit novelettes have that just-right touch of humor that had me laughing out loud. That’s hard to do, but Jim does it quite well. One of his latest novels, Don’t Leave Me, has dizzying, fast-paced action, and he puts his main character through all kinds of grief, but he layers it well with moments of humor and touching characterization that lighten the dark spots, adding depth and warmth to a fascinating read.

Let me put it like this–for thirty years, my very favorite novelist of all time has been Dean Koontz. If you like Dean Koontz, you’ll probably like James Scott Bell. Enough said.

JSB Author Photo Try Dying

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Honored Alumni, James L. Rubart, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Have You Read This Guy Lately? By Hannah Alexander

  1. Susan Fryman says:

    When I find an author I particularly enjoy I go back and read everything I can find too. You’re an author I discovered a few years back. I picked up everything I could find by you to read. You’re such a blessing. Susan Fryman

    Like

  2. diannegsagan says:

    I do the same thing when I find a new author that I enjoy. I discovered Steven James when I went to the Writing for the Soul conference in Colorado Springs this winter. He was one of the faculty and Keynote Speakers. What an amazing and inspiring speaker! I’ve started with his Patrick Bower thriller series, starting with “The Pawn.” He is a Christian fiction writer and keeps you riveted to the story. I can’t wait to read all of his books.

    Like

  3. juliearduini says:

    I’m the same. I find an author and devour their books. I went through yours and Jim’s books about the same time. I agree with Dianne, Steven James is a master storyteller. The Patrick Bower books are amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

