Reading to Escape

This week has been tough all around. I watched the prayer service for the attack on Boston and the news anchor asked how we go back to living our lives.Good question. As I write this post I’m watching the news on the blast in Waco.

Of course we need to face life and deal with issues, but there’s a time and season for everything. Real life is one reason I enjoy reading books that take me away, stories that give me an escape. I don’t want to read a heart-wrenching novel consumed with tragedy. 

Recently one of my readers shared that when she gets down she picks up one of my books and it just takes her away to good places. That warmed my heart to know that I had helped her in this way.

We all read for different reasons. Is reading to escape one of yours?

Blessings!

Beth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reading to Escape

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    Reading is one of my favorite escapes! Not only from the general craziness of the world – I’m sometimes just exhausted by the demands in my own little life and find reading to be one of the best refreshers I can think of. Only problem? When I’d rather be reading than cooking, cleaning, doing laundry, etc., etc., etc.

    I’m with you about the kind of escape I want, though. I never did like the books Oprah recommended, because too many of them had tragic endings. Give me hope and a happy ending and I’m refreshed. 🙂

    Like

  2. bethrachg says:

    I hear you Maureen–it takes me away for too long. LOL Things don’t get done–but sometimes we deserve that get away when we can’t take a cruise! There are some authors that I don’t read because I know their novels are going to be just too heart wrenching for me. Great messages and spiritual nuggets, even, but that’s not what I’m looking for.
    Thanks for commenting!
    Beth

    Like

  3. Monique Gojko says:

    Maureen,
    Reading for me is an adventure also. But the books I enjoy the most are those where our heroine(s) have to face the trials of this world….all the business, craziness, evil, everything!
    I especially like it when the author writes in viable, christian solutions for making it through those times. It encourages me!! I can identify with the sorrows and the disappointments; but unlike the desparation that occured when I was not a Christian, I am encouraged that the struggles can bring a new level of understanding for the characters and for me. Life continues to challenges all of us in our daily walk with the Lord, so novels (even historical Christian ones) help me to see how people work out the solutions. I begin to understand the many facettted sides of grieving and the greatness of joy. Thanks for you comment. Monique

    Like

Leave a Reply

