A Journey Toward God

“A good movie story is a journey toward God. It reminds us of the Master Story-teller. A good story is a holy thing.”

This quote from Dr. Ted Baehr, publisher of Movie Guide (www.movieguide.org) and one of the best known names in the motion picture industry, aptly sums up the meaning and purpose of a “Christian film”—a story that takes us on a “journey toward God.” Quite obviously his reference toward the stories depicted in movies applies to books as well.

I often hear the question, What makes a book/story/movie “Christian”? It’s a good question, isn’t it? Is it automatically Christian if the person writing it is Christian? Must it contain quotes from Scripture? What about at least one conversion experience?

All of those things could, of course, be components in making up a Christian story, but I think Dr. Baehr’s quote better sums it up: “a journey toward God.”

As a Christian who writes, I believe my responsibility is to present an alternative world view to readers, one that most often flies in the face of the world’s accepted norm. My purpose is to help my readers either begin their journey toward God or take a few steps farther along the path.

Jesus was the Master Storyteller, using “parables with purpose” to teach the masses and lead them on their journey toward God. Besides His stellar example, what writers have done that sort of thing for you?

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Kathi Macias. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Journey Toward God

  1. Your books have often raised the question in my mind, “How much do I love God? More than comfort? More than my wants? Enough to suffer for Him?” When I question the depth of my own faith, it grows. Thanks, Kathi!

    Like

  2. Charlotte A. says:

    Kathi, this was a helpful piece. I, too, like the quote from Ted Baehr that an effective Christian movie story is a “journey toward God.” Your novels often include a character being empowered through prayer and sometimes integrating a meaningful scripture into his or her life. Such elements give substance to readers or movie viewers.

    Like

  3. Kathi Macias says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment, Anne and Charlotte.

    Like

Leave a Reply

