A Double Standard?

I hesitated to write this, but I thought I’d think alound and ask the question. I think it’s safe to say that for many readers, books aren’t their only form of entertainment. The realm of what we call inspirational or Christian fiction is a rather small circle when compared to the general reading population.

We are quick to point out in a “Christian” book if there’s something that offends us or we don’t like. But we tune into television shows that cross many, many lines.

Take the crime shows for example. They show the grittiness of life. Some of us don’t take much issue with the violence and/or gore. “That’s part of the story,” we say. Characters dropping references with sexual innuendo, hopping in and out of bed with each other. “Oh, that’s part of the story,” we say. Lying for the sake of an investigation or to trick someone. “That’s what cops and investigators do,” we say.

For example, I adore the television show “Castle.” Why? Snappy dialogue, crimes with some good plot twists, the fact that there’s a writer as one of the main characters. However, all of the above have occurred in the story lines of this show. So I guess in a way I’m referring to myself and I’m not comfortable with the observation.

Yet, some of us can be so much harder on Christian writers in what they “show” and “don’t show.”

“You didn’t have that character get redeemed,” we say. Well, in real life, that doesn’t always happen.

“You character did something underhanded to help solve the crime,” we chide the author.

Where do we draw the line of what’s acceptable in “entertainment?”

Or, do we move that line to suit our own tastes or to fit the author or television show? Is all this relative?

I find it ironic that readers–viewers–will watch certain shows and not be offended, yet they will pick up a book and find all types of moral infractions, trivial or no.

Am I mistaken? Does this really happen? Am I the only one who has a double standard?

This entry was posted in Lynette Sowell and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Double Standard?

  1. Pingback: A Double Standard? | ChristianBookBarn.com

  2. Susan Fryman says:

    Great post, which will be further enriching my life. Rarely am I critical of a Christian book I read, which is the only fiction I read. I won’t read any book with cursing no matter how mild. I do try to check to see if it’s an isolated incident. I applied your blog to form another question. If the shows I watch were in book form, Would I be reading them? The answer was an eyeopening, resounding NO, I made a commitment decades ago to be discerning about what I read, I’m working on making the same commitment in my viewing habits. Thank you so much. Blessings, Susan Fryman

    Like

Leave a Reply

