Tolkien Reading Day

As I often do, I got up this morning and checked to see what sort of celebration I could come up with for today—you know, National Toenail Day, International Bad Hair Day, etc. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that besides being Waffle Day and Maryland Day, it was Tolkien Reading Day. How cool is that?
Now, I suppose if you’re not a Tolkien fan you’d rather just eat waffles or move to Maryland. I personally love Tolkien, and that’s really saying something because I’m not a fan of fantasy or anything even remotely resembling it. But I have a real emotional attachment to The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings Trilogy.

Way back in the Dark Ages (1974 to be exact) just months before becoming a born-again believer on July 5, I picked up a book called The Hobbit. I have no idea how I came across it or it happened to be in my home, but I was living in Colorado Springs at the time, and it had been a long, cold winter. I’m not a skier nor do I like cold weather, so the ongoing winter months had seemed especially tedious. In response, I spent many, many hours with my nose buried in books (something I do regardless of the weather). So even though The Hobbit wasn’t my usual reading fare, since I had no alternatives handy and didn’t want to drive on the ice to try to get something else (remember, this was long before Nooks and Kindles!), I settled down to read about Mr. Bilbo Baggins and company.

Guess what? By the time I was done I rushed right out into the middle of a snowstorm so I could pick up the trilogy and continue with Mr. Tolkien’s stories. And boy, was he a great storyteller! But it was more than that. As I said, I read these just months before becoming a true believer, but already I was searching. In retrospect, I don’t believe it was purely chance that I ended up with nothing to read but The Hobbit; I suspect God Himself was directing my steps, even then, to woo my heart and open my eyes. Though it was subtle (and I didn’t even realize it at the time), Tolkien’s books were part of that wooing process.

Anyone else have similar experiences, either with Tolkien or some other author/book? As a writer of Christian books, I’d like to think God uses my words to nudge others toward his heart, and I imagine all other Christian writers feel the same. I’d love to hear from you along these lines (in between your Tolkien reading and waffle eating, of course).

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tolkien Reading Day

  1. Melissa L. says:

    My husband likes the movies of these books. I am not really a fan, however, maybe the books are different then the movies. I really enjoy more reading and making up the movie to go along with it. I started reading many Amish novels which have really opened my eyes and brought me back to God. Also lately, reading your books (especially the Freedom Series) has really helped in my search and my coming to understand more about myself. Thank you for your books and look forward to enjoying many more!! Melissa L.

    Like

  2. I’m a huge Tolkien fan too. I find so much spiritual depth to the stories, and in CS Lewis’s Narnia series as well. Great article. I twittered it, it was so good.

    Like

  3. Kathi Macias says:

    Thanks so much, Melissa and Christine!

    Like

  4. Awesome Kathi, I like the idea of Tolkien reading day

    Like

Leave a Reply

