Learning From Experience by Hannah Alexander

2011 - Cheryl fb profile

Have you ever made an awkward move and tripped? Most folks do. Have you ever spaced out and found yourself unintentionally running a stop sign or a traffic signal? I have a friend who once glanced down at her cell phone to enter a number and glanced up again, too late to stop herself from ramming into the pick-up that had suddenly stopped in front of her. I have another friend who panicked when a spider lowered itself on a web into her face while she was driving and had a fender bender–which is why I always keep my windows shut tight when I park my car, even in the garage. I would have bent a fender, myself, if that had happened to me.

Another friend was driving with a puppy loose in the car–no, wait, that was me, back when I was young and stupid and didn’t know about pet taxis. I managed to get the puppy out from under the brake pedal before I had to use it. Oh, and then there was the time, when I was a teenager, when I drove along an empty interstate highway to work while applying nail polish. It’s amazing, but the only wreck I ever had was the fault of the other driver. Looking back, I realize I was danger on wheels for a few years. Never be like me.

Life is full of distractions. Driving has become almost a mindless act after decades of experience, and sometimes we don’t realize how vital our behavior is behind the wheel.

I received some stunning news last night that came as a warning to me, and I hope will warn others: Life is precious, so take precautions.

A lovely young woman named Tammy cleaned our clinic yesterday. It’s been her job for three months. She actually works three different jobs–cleaning, refereeing basketball and night shift at Casey’s. I received a call from her roommate last night that Tammy, who always wears a seatbelt in the car, somehow went off the road along that same interstate where I used to polish my nails. She was found thrown from the vehicle and is in critical condition in ICU. It’s likely she had dropped something–a cell phone, for instance–and unbuckled for just a few seconds to retrieve it. That’s all it takes. Now we’re praying she survives.

Have you ever complained because an older person moved too slowly? I understand it can be frustrating to get behind a slow-moving vehicle on a two-lane road with no place to pass, of course, but there are times when those older people have slowed their actions because of lessons learned the hard way. They’ve slipped and fallen one too many times, and now they’re suffering pain because of it. I’m beginning to understand that better. If I’d moved more slowly when I was younger, if I hadn’t been so rash and impulsive and fallen so many times and done injury to my body, I might feel younger than I do.

If you’re smart, you’ll learn from your mistakes. If you’re brilliant, you’ll learn from the mistakes of others and possibly save a bump or two along the way. Please, if you are inclined to, would you pray for our Tammy today?

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

