Loving Those Who Hurt Us by Sarah Goebel

I was just thinking about some experiences from my past. You know, as we journey through life it is inevitable that we will be hurt from time to time. When someone hurts us, whether they did so intentionally or not, our first impulse is to lash out at them. We want revenge. But Jesus says in Matthew 5:39, “Do not resist an evil person; but whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also.”

Let’s face it, we all know this is not natural and in our own strength, it is impossible. But as children of our Father who is in heaven, we are enabled by His life that lives in and through us to respond to others in this supernatural way.

We find a way to do this in Matthew 5:44. Jesus said, “But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you. How do we forgive
thprayingose who hurt us? How do we love them? We simply pray for them, and as we do, Christ’s love is released through us.

Is there someone in your life today, who has hurt you? Someone who needs to experience the mercy of God through your life?
When you get on your knees for that person, you are releasing the love of God into their life, just as God released His love to you,
even when you were at enmity with Him. Go ahead and do it now. As you pray, you will not only release that person to God’s care,
you will set yourself free from the misery that results from being held captive to unforgiveness.

God is so good to us. He is love and He has poured out His love on us and in us that we can love Him and one another!

For Christ’s Glory,

Sarah Goebel

About Sarah Goebel

I live for Christ and I welcome opportunities to share His grace, love and transforming power. God has blessed me to be able to author 3 books: Experience Godliness God's Way, Experience Real Satisfaction (the Abundant Living Pkg), and Enjoying God through Purposeful Living. You can find out more about me by visiting my website at www.sarahgoebel.com. While you are there, I hope you will register for my mailing list. And while here on this blog site, I hope you will consider clicking on the "Networked Blog Follow" button to receive notification when I post something new. Remember that you are loved tremendously & empowered by His grace! So, Enjoy God, find your satisfaction in Him and be transformed from glory to glory!
This entry was posted in Sarah Goebel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Loving Those Who Hurt Us by Sarah Goebel

  1. It’s so hard sometimes. . .but with god it is possible to love them.

    Like

  2. Sarah Goebel says:

    Savannah: Yes, I totally agree with you! Forgiving is not always an easy thing to do. In fact, I recall one situation in my life that took me a good year to totally release forgiveness because the pain was so deep. I think this is what Jesus meant when He said to forgive 70 times 7. He was saying you will have this thing come up over and over again in your mind, and you must release forgiveness again and again – each and every time.

    In my situation, I would think I had forgiven, then I would hear of something good that person was receiving and I would have a judgmental thought such as, “Why is she having such success. Look what she did…..” I know that was a judgmental, prideful thought as if I were better or something, and I wasn’t – still am not. But, the thought would come uninvited! However, I truly wanted to release forgiveness so I just kept asking, “God, help me release this forgiveness. I desire to forgive because you desire me to and you have forgiven me and my sins against you. In you name and through you right now, I forgive her.” I just kept doing that until finally a day came that I heard something really great happening for her, and I truly was happy for her. It was an amazing thing that could not have been done in my own power and strength; it could only be done through the power of God!!!

    Thanks for commenting on the post, Savannah! May God bless you richly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

