Please, Tell Your Story by James L. Rubart

You’re a reader. You love reading powerful stories. Do you realize you have a fascinating, powerful story as well? Has anyone read it?

I hear what’s going through your head right now: “No, I don’t, Jim. There’s nothing particularly interesting about my story.”

I disagree.

file000909879658

I do branding for other authors and when we work together I start by asking them what is unique and intriguing about themselves. Often they say, “Nothing really. I’m pretty ordinary and I’ve lived a rather ordinary life.”

Not true.

In every case, once we dig down into their desires and hobbies and anecdotes from their life, I find a scintillating  person and a captivating story. My guess is it’s the same for you.

And there are people in your life who want to hear that story.

In his later years my dad wrote down all the experiences he could remember from his life starting when he was a little boy all the way through to his present. Do you realize what a gift this is to his family?

Maybe you’re not up for writing it all down. If you are, great. If not, why not simply get together with a friend and tell them your story from the beginning? Then listen to theirs.

I promise you, it will be a time of great richness.

How ’bout doing this with your children? Priceless.

Tell your story, please, there are people who need to read it.

About James L. Rubart

Husband, Dad, Author, Speaker
This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, James L. Rubart, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

