What’s Your One Word for 2013? By Julie Arduini

What’s your one word for 2013?

The last few years I’ve seen a new trend eclipse the new year’s resolution. I think people realize their resolutions often result in a pass/fail concept, and they walk away the second week in January feeling as if they failed. Instead, they are seeking God and asking Him to give them a word or theme for the year.

I’ve done this for quite some time, and He’s so faithful to answer. There have been years I had my answer in October, so I had months to study the word and prepare for what changes I wanted to make to ensure I was being a good steward with that word.

Here are a couple examples:

-Surrender

-Obedience

Last year was opportunity. I felt like 2012 was more about setbacks, but as I reflected on everything, I realized even when I broke my wrist and after it was supposed to be done healing I had to go in for a re-break and surgery, I had the opportunity to be bitter or better. The same choice was in front of my family when our church went through a split last fall. They weren’t fun opportunities, but that word helped me be aware and I believe walk in His wisdom as those circumstances played out.

This year my word is abundance. I’m excited to see how Jesus will use this word to draw me closer to Him in 2013. My main writing goal is to secure an agent. My overall ministry goal as I serve women and girls is to love as Christ does. I don’t dare define how abundance could play out. I’m on the lookout, and already got excited when I ran to the drive-thru as a treat for the family and all the orders were wrong. I returned and was kind about it, and they upgraded everything and let me keep the wrong food. Talk about abundance. My family ate like royalty!

Julie Arduini's word for 2013.

Julie Arduini’s word for 2013.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary DeMuth blogged about the word theme last week with a meme of sorts called #Pic4Year. The Linky is still open, so I encourage you to read her post and share your own picture and word for the year. If nothing else, take a look at the photos and words already submitted. I was inspired by all the themes and visual take on them.

Whatever your word is, I pray 2013 is a year full of God’s joy, and yes, abundance!

I invite you to share your word here in the comments.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

