Is Reading Dangerous to Your Health? by Elizabeth Goddard

I have enough writing deadlines these days (which is a good thing) that my health might be suffering.  Okay, there’s really no question. And that’s a bad thing. You see, I don’t have time to do much more than write, which means I’m sitting.

A lot.

I need to exercise. This isn’t about making excuses either. I used to run every day until about two years ago when I started writing on double deadlines.  But you don’t have to be a writer to have this problem.

If you’re crazy about reading this could be you too. Maybe you’re not a couch potato, technically speaking. But do you spend hours reading every day? Still, I don’t think we’re going to see the Surgeon General Warning on books, at least anytime soon.

Thinking about this reminded me that years ago before I was a published and had writing deadlines to meet, I spent the time reading, and a good part of that time I spent riding a recumbent bike while I read.

I’m not sure what happened to that bike. Did it end up in a garage sale? Or sent to the Goodwill?

I’d love to have it back.

Fortunately, I’m not the only one with this all-consuming work schedule so there are many exercise machine solutions out there. I might even think about asking for one of these contraptions for Christmas. Think about it—you can read and write while you exercise on a TrekDesk Treadmill or any number of other offerings.

Sounding like a commercial isn’t my intention.  I’d love to hear from those of you who’ve tried the various exercise machines that allow you to read or use your laptop while you exercise. What do you like or dislike? I really want to know.

This could be the answer to my exercise problem.

___________________

Elizabeth Goddard

Elizabeth Goddard

Elizabeth Goddard is the award-winning author of over a dozen romance novels. Treacherous Skies is her newest romantic suspense.

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Reading Dangerous to Your Health? by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. Susan Fryman says:

    My husband revamped an old exercise bike like the one you were just speaking about, I think. I can sit down and read while I pedal. Think I’m going to give it a try. Thanks for the suggestion. Pray you can figure out a solution to your exercise dilemma as well. Blessings, Susan Fryman

    Like

  2. Unfortunately most of the things I enjoy doing are down sitting down–reading, writing, knitting, solving puzzles of all kinds. And I would choose any of those activities over exercising any day. I read about a company that modified their work stations to encourage employees to exercise while working. All their computers are at eye level (when standing). The employee stands on a treadmill set to move quite slowly while working. Although they aren’t getting in a cardio workout, they are standing and moving all day while working on the computer. This might be a solution that would work for us writers and readers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

