An Excellent Read–By Hannah Alexander

I’ve always thought of myself as a romantic suspense reader. After all, that’s what I write, so it obviously interests me. Phyllis Whitney and  Mary Stewart were two of my favorites, among others, when I was developing my taste in fiction. Beautiful prose draws me, as well, which is why I enjoy a good Dean Koontz novel despite the fact that I’m not a lover of horror. Dean usually manages to insert a happy ending into his work, which keeps me coming back for more.

Looking back over the more recent years, however, I’ve discovered that I enjoy a well-written fantasy novel, such as Donita Paul’s Dragon series, which was supposedly written for younger folk, but which many adults enjoy. I love fantasy not only because they are fun, exciting stories, but because it’s possible to portray great spiritual truths in these stories without being accused of preaching. After all, it’s fantasy. Kathy Tyers is another sci-fi/fantasy novelist whose work I enjoy, as well as my friend, Karen Hancock, who has won multiple Christy awards for her intense and excellent work.

If you haven’t already discovered RJ Larson, let me introduce you to a fantasy novelist who has captured the very essence of the technique in her Books of the Infinite series, a sort of Hunger Games with hope. I’m not sure how many books will complete the series. The first novel was Prophet, about a young woman who is chosen by the Infinite to become His prophet, shocking all the priests in her city. Throughout a journey into other lands–including romance! Yay!–our young prophet discovers and learns to depend on the power and personal love of the Infinite in her life, and in the lives of those she meets. In Judge, the second novel, our prophet, Ela, and the hero she loves, Kien, are plunged into political intrigue, war, betrayal and hope as their faith is tested and forced to grow deeper through experiences the prophets and children of God must have felt in our Bible. As I read, I find my own faith reaffirmed, as I’m sure other readers of this exciting series have discovered, as well.

If you like Christian allegory and fantasy, you will not be disappointed with this series by RJ Larson. If you haven’t tested the waters of fantasy, I urge you to pick up a copy of Prophet or Judge today and get your feet wet. I think you’ll be encouraged.

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Excellent Read–By Hannah Alexander

  1. Vicki Hinze says:

    Hannah, thanks for the recommendation. I added these two books, PROPHET and JUDGE to our Christians Read bookstore, here on the site. If others recommend reads, I’ll add them, too, so they’re easy to find.

    I enjoy good fantasy novels but wasn’t aware of good ones to read that carry strong spiritual messages, so I’m very glad that you did recommend these!

    Blessings,

    Vicki

    Like

Leave a Reply

