WRITING AS WORSHIP

Recently I was engaged in an email discussion raised by another writer about whether our writing is worship. The general consensus was that our gifts are from God and our using them in a way that serves others is serving him. But what about worship? That got me to thinking about how I looked at it.

When I was in my 30’s, I taught in Sunday school, headed up mission programs, promoted special offerings, taught Bible studies, was in church every time the doors opened. That was good. I needed it. Was good for my family. Now, I get more depth by personal study and worship by having a faith message in my books. I have to think about the characters’ problems, and while solving them for the characters, I’m confirming my own faith, teaching myself, and giving the reader something to think about.

For example, in my current WIP my author/character’s mentor had encouraged him from childhood to always have a “good” ending when he came up with his wild “bad” stories. In his mature, successful author years they have a discussion about opposites– bad/good, evil/good and concluded good is opposite of bad. One can do “bad” things and combat that with “good.” But being/doing good is not the opposite of evil. I loved that discussion, made me think about and present to my readers what is the opposite of evil.

I love it when I stop to realize (as the discussion reminded me) that I’m not just writing stories, but I’m learning more about my own faith and imparting that to readers who need to think about the faith message. God is teaching me as I write, and in turn I’m teaching the reader. I think when we’re experiencing that, it’s worship.

About yvon63

Author of 50 novels. Director of Blue Ridge Christian "Autumn in the Mountains" Novelist Retreat held annually in October, in the panoramic mountains of western North Carolina.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WRITING AS WORSHIP

  1. sarahssundry says:

    This is beautiful Yvon! Thank-you for posting this. I enjoy using the gift He’s given me in writing. I often struggled though in feeling like I should be doing something ‘more productive’ for Him. I learn so much through writing. So much about myself and about Him.

    Like

  2. Absolutely agree. Good post, Camy

    Like

  3. Elizabeth Volk says:

    I agree. I was reading Romans 6 recently. Offering the parts of my body as instruments of righteousness to glorify God. Eyes, hands, heart, head… all (plus more) parts of my body that I use to write. SO when I use them as instruments of righteousness, they glorify God. My take on it: When I write, it is for HIS glory. Even if no one else sees it, He does. Hope this snippet makes sense… Yup. Writing is worship.

    Like

Leave a Reply

