Readers, Writers, and Book Clubs

As my speaking engagements explode and I find myself on the road nearly as often as I’m home writing my next book, I must admit that of all the groups I speak to–writers’ conferences, women’s retreats, church and civic events–there’s nowhere I’d rather go than to a book club. Granted, many of them have only a handful of members, but those members are avid readers and absolutely LOVE to buy autographed books from authors. I recently had an opportunity to speak to a HUGE book club up in Fresno, CA, and it was such a wonderful experience that I wrote a feature article about the event for The Book Club Network’s magazine. (You can read it and check out the magazine at http://www.bookfunmagazine.com.)

The more I thought about how much I enjoy dropping in on book clubs as a writer/speaker, I thought I’d love to get some feedback on the topic from readers–and that would be you! So chime in, please. I’d love to hear your experiences regarding these groups. Are they still relevant today, since the advent of e-readers and online social interaction? What to do you think, dear book lovers?

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Readers, Writers, and Book Clubs

  1. Vicki Hinze says:

    I read your article (love that new magazine!) and enjoyed your insights very much.

    I’ll tell you truly, I’m meeting myself coming and going these days and while I love discussing books and talking with people face to face, I find there’s more to do than I can do.

    Then I think of people like the wounded woman who hated the book and needed a kind word to get turned around and see good in people, I rethink that. Gathering is a chance to minister and be ministered to–whichever is needed at the time. And frankly, we all need one or the other.

    Yes, you can do that in an online group, but it’s just different when you can reach out and give someone in need a hug.

    Like

Leave a Reply

