The Joy of Reading

Many of the posts recently are about reading, so I’ll jump in and mention what I’m reading. I have several shelves of books in the garage (although gave away half of them when I moved in my present home, which is almost impossible for me to do). I’m still giving some away because our church hosts Queen for a Day each October for about 100 needy women in which they try to meet their needs with anything from toothpaste to clothing. What I do is donate books.

In my office I have an entire wall-length closet with shelves of books. Most of there are written by my writer/friends and I can’t bear to give those away. I give away duplicates, some of my own, and those I get through book clubs. The women love these because they can’t afford to buy books, computers, or kindles, etc. This is the only way I can feel comfortable parting with my books.

Now, reading them is a different matter. I make a habit to read about an hour before going to bed at night. Other than that, my reading is limited to mentoring the work of my students through the Christian Writers Guild. And I judge many contests and read the works of both beginners and published writers.

And then there are the books of my Novel Retreat faculty that I try to read. My most difficult reading is my own books as I’m writing them. Takes a while for the story to take shape and be enjoyable.

But one reading time I don’t want to give up and that’s my morning Devotional time. I try to read in order to deepen my faith, understand God’s word better, just spend time with him but inevitably the reading and the meditation time results in my getting story ideas or the answer to the problem faced my characters. My latest novel has the theme of the verse from the Bible that says, “the truth shall make you free.”

Don’t you just love it when another writer’s work, and God’s word, speaks to you about a particular time in your life when you needed just that? I’m so grateful to Christian writers. I love teaching and mentoring writers so they have the joy of reaching out to others in their stories.

And yes, that’s definitely a way to bring up the Novel Retreat that’s coming up October 14-17 here in the mountains of North Carolina. Our faculty is made up of established authors (Ray Blackston, Lynette Eason, Mark Mynheir, Deborah Raney, Ken Raney, Ramona Richards, Janet Roller, and Ann Tatlock) who have that desire to teach, influence, and motivate other writers to reach their dreams, not just read all those great books but to write them. Come join us!
Ridgecrestconferencecenter.org/event/novelist or contact me at yvonnelehman3@gmail.com

About yvon63

Author of 50 novels. Director of Blue Ridge Christian "Autumn in the Mountains" Novelist Retreat held annually in October, in the panoramic mountains of western North Carolina.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Yvonne Lehman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

