Older Life-Changing Books by Julie Arduini

It’s been a peculiar reading year for me. Although I’ve enjoyed reviewing new releases on my website, my life-changing reads this year aren’t from 2012. Not even close. Of course the Bible is a daily read and a life-changer, but I thought I would share the two books I not only devoured, but am highlighting nearly every sentence and visiting Amazon to purchase for others.

Secrets of the Secret Place: Keys to Igniting Your Personal Time with God. This Bob Sorge book is from 2001 and I have no idea how it missed my reading radar until now.

From Amazon: This book has one purpose: to fuel your passion for the secret place with God. Divided into 52 short chapters, it can serve as a companion to your devotional life. It will help defuse struggles related to the secret place and inspire you to develop a personal connection with God.

I stopped counting at how many times I’ve bought this book for someone else. I took months to read this one because every sentence had a nugget for me to hold onto. I can’t even give a breakdown of the chapters because I loaned my book out, and when I get it back, I plan to read again. I can’t say enough about this book.

 

A Tale of Three Kings: A Study in Brokenness. I’m not always able to participate in our local Sunday School class, so I went to the library to grab this book by Gene Edwards. My very used copy is from 1980 I believe, and I see there is a 1992 and 2011 re-print.

From Amazon:

From the Back Cover

What do you do when someone throws a spear at you?”
Light, clarity, and comfort for the brokenhearted.
To the many Christians who have experienced pain, loss, and heartache at the hands of other believers, this compelling tale based on the biblical figures of David, Saul, and Absalom offers comfort, healing, and hope.
Christian leaders and directors of religious movements throughout the world have recommended this simple, powerful, and beautiful story to their members and staff.
You will want to join the thousands who have been profoundly touched by this incomparable story.

I love a good in-your-face book, but not to throw it at someone else and command them to read it, but for me to absorb the truths and change for the better. There is nothing worse than being wounded by a church. I’ve been there. I ate this book up. It’s a short read, but a transforming one.

Are there any books on your list that aren’t recent releases?
Images from Amazon

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

