Favorite Reading Spots?

I moan and groan a lot about having to travel so much, but I shouldn’t. Not only does it show an ungrateful attitude, but it fails to recognize two important (and very positive) points: 1) My speaking invitations/engagements are obviously on the uptick or I wouldn’t be flying across the country ever couple of weeks; 2) My expanded travel schedule usually affords me more reading-for-pleasure time.

I’ve been an avid reader for as long as I can remember, and from the time I was a child I was a pro at snatching even five spare minutes to get at least a few more pages read and digested. No doubt that passion and priority for reading helped drive me to try my hand at writing things for other people to read.

That’s where the problem started. Like most new writers, I went into this venture naively believing that the rest of my life would remain relatively untouched by it. Boy, was I wrong! Whether you write fulltime or part-time, the entire pursuit quickly turns into overtime. Before you know it, every moment is spent researching, writing, rewriting, editing, marketing… Well, you get the picture. And you know what happens? Reading for pleasure quickly falls through the cracks.

I know. I never thought it would happen either. But it did. I now have to discipline myself to squeeze pleasure-reading time into my ridiculous schedule. And so we come back to travel time. Most of my trips consist of hurry-up-to-get-to-the-airport-on-time-to-get-through-security and then waiting at the gate for my flight to be called. You’d be amazed how much you can read during that time! And, of course, how better to pass the actual flight time than to devour several more chapters while zipping through the clouds on the way to your next destination!

I recently ran across an online contest where entrants were supposed to submit photos of their favorite reading spots. I don’t know that airports and airplanes are my favorite reading spots, but they certainly are turning out to be the most workable for me.

How about you? Do you have a favorite reading spot—or maybe just one where you know you can escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, even for a few minutes, to indulge in your beloved pastime of reading? If so, I’d love to hear about it!

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

