What’s Your Dream? by James L. Rubart

I’ve wanted a dirt bike since I was five. Okay, maybe not five—it was more like three.

Growing up, I knew it wouldn’t ever happen.

No way.

Not while I lived with my parents. My mom was not a fan of the two-wheeled neck breakers. I was strictly forbidden from ever getting on a motorcycle. It was a non-negotiable.

(No, I won’t mention the time during high school I jumped on friend’s street bike and screamed past my mom who just happened to be traveling the same road going the opposite direction. Dinner was not fun that night. Nor breakfast the next morning, etc, etc.)

But five years ago I did something about that dream that kept flitting around my heart; I bought dirt bikes for my sons and me.

We’ve  all wiped out and gotten hurt multiple times.

My son, Micah from this past weekend

I’ve hurt myself—badly.

The bikes take work to maintain.

Is it worth it? Are you kidding? They’ve given us eternal memories that are gold. The first time Taylor and Micah rode out in front of me I couldn’t stop a massive grin from bursting out on my face. It was so fun. So freeing. So full of life.

It was just a small dream. To ride dirt bikes with my sons. But it came true because I stopped putting it off and took action. And when Micah said it was the best gift I’d ever given Taylor and him, I smiled that big goofy grin again.

What’s yours? That little dream you’ve been meaning to do for years. That dream that won’t go away.

That dream that whispers to you just before you go to sleep.

If you’re reading this post, you’re a lover of stories that take you away to other worlds. So what’s the story you need to step into that is your own?

Buy the bikes, write that novel, go on the trip, ask the girl out, start that restaurant … the Spirit put that desire inside you for a reason; it might be time to set it free.

About James L. Rubart

Husband, Dad, Author, Speaker
This entry was posted in James L. Rubart and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Your Dream? by James L. Rubart

  1. Pingback: Follow Your Heart | Cindy Ortiz – Leap Like a Frog

Leave a Reply

